Your driving record is a major factor in the price of auto insurance. A DUI almost always means you will pay higher car insurance rates. Bankrate examines the insurance implications of a DUI conviction, and what other consequences might apply in Colorado.
What does a DUI do to your insurance rates?
Insurance rates are affected by a DUI conviction. This is because insurance providers consider a DUI conviction indicative of future risky driving behavior. If you have done it once, it might happen again. The provider may also consider that you might exhibit other reckless behavior, which could lead to you neglecting the safety of others.
Data strongly supports this assumption. The National Highway Traffic Administration states that about a third (or more) of DUI arrests involve repeat offenders. This means that a DUI-convicted driver is 4.1 times less likely to be involved in an accident with a vehicle than other drivers. According to Mothers Against Drunk Driving drunk driving remains the leading cause for death on roads.
Most drivers will see their insurance rates effectively double after a DUI conviction. It’s not as bad in Colorado, but it’s still 60% more.
Below is a chart that compares national average annual premiums before and following a DUI conviction. Even though the percentages may be different, a DUI conviction means that you will most likely need to pay more than $3,000 for car insurance in Colorado and nationally.
Average DUI rates for the United States vs. their respective states
|Pre-DUI||After DUI||Percentage Increase|
What is the cost of insurance for a DUI in Colorado?
There are many variables that can influence the price of insurance. These variables include:
- Model of car
- Age of your car
- Wherever you live
- Annual mileage
- Requirements for each state
- Marital status
- Credit score
- Types of coverage
- Insurance company
- Minimum amount
- Get Discounts
Your driving record, which is the category that a DUI affects, is the most important factor. Each company will weigh the importance of each variable differently. This is why it is important to shop around and get a quote from every company.
The average price of car insurance drivers have to pay for minimum coverage. This includes both before and after taking into account DUIs from top major providers in Colorado. These amounts do not guarantee what you might see after your first DUI.
Colorado provider minimum coverage rates
|Provider||Average minimum coverage rate||DUI coverage minimum rate|
|Colorado Farm Bureau Insurance||$615||$611|
Colorado offers full coverage with DUI
Full coverage rates are at least twice the rate of
|Provider||Average coverage rate||Full coverage with DUI|
|Colorado Farm Bureau Insurance||$2,870||$2,952|
Other Colorado DUI Consequences
After a DUI, you should be aware that there are many other consequences than rising insurance rates. These consequences include jail time, community service, and fines. An IID may be required in order to start your car. An ignition interlock device is a device that locks your vehicle’s doors if you inhale alcohol.
These are some other consequences that can result from repeat DUI offenses in Colorado.
|1st DUI (Misdemeanor).||2nd DUI (Misdemeanor).||Third DUI (Misdemeanor).||Fourth DUI (Class 4 Felony).|
|Time spent in prison||From 5 days up to 1 year||From 10 days up to one year||60 days up to one year||2- 6 years|
|Fine||$600-$1,000||$600- $1,500||$600- $1,500||$2,000- $500,000|
|Community Service||48 to 96 hours||48 to 120 hours||48-120 hours||NA|
|License Suspension/ Revocation||9 months suspension||1-year revocation||Suspended for 2 years||NA|
|Ignition Interlock Device, (IID).||Possible||2 years||2 years||NA|
|DMV Points||12 points||12 points||12 points||NA|
Vehicle assault is a charge for injuring someone while under the influence. This is a class 4 felony. It is the same as a fourth DUI conviction. This sentence can lead to up to six years imprisonment and a fine between $2,000 and $500,000.
You can be sentenced to four to twelve years imprisonment for killing someone drunk driving.
What is the BAC required for a DUI conviction?
All states require a BAC of 0.08 or more to be convicted of DUI. It is possible to be charged with DUI in Colorado even if your results are below 0.08, if you have signs of impairment.
If you refuse to take a breath test, can you still be charged with DUI?
Yes. Yes. An officer can charge you with DUI even if there are signs of impairment. Colorado law requires that all drivers consent to chemical testing if they believe you are impaired.
Is a DUI from another state considered a DUI in Colorado?
Yes. Colorado will take into account any previous convictions from Colorado when you are arrested for DUI in Colorado. If you have had three DUI convictions in another state, Colorado will treat it as your fourth and make it a class 4 crime.