Auto insurance after a DUI in Florida

Between 2003 and 2012, nearly 8500 Floridians were involved in car accidents involving drunk drivers. 2.1% of Florida drivers also reported that they had been drinking excessively. Florida, like other states, takes drunk driving seriously. A DUI conviction is a significant risk factor for insurance companies.

Drivers who are convicted of DUIs face a variety of penalties, including increasing insurance costs. While the consequences of a DUI can vary depending on the severity, it is helpful to have an idea of what to expect once you are convicted.

What does a DUI do to your insurance rates?

DUI-convicted drivers are more likely to drive recklessly than drivers who have not been convicted. This is why insurance rates rise after a DUI conviction. Although a driver can change their behavior, the insurance surcharge will usually remain on your policy for many years.

DUIs are serious offenses. Over 10,000 people are killed every year in alcohol-related traffic accidents. Mothers Against Drunk Driving estimates that two thirds of all people will be affected in a drunk driving accident during their lifetime.

ALSO READ  New vs used car insurance

Insurance companies increase car insurance premiums due to the serious consequences of DUIs. Below is a table that compares the average national full coverage premiums pre-and post-DUI to Florida’s annual full coverage premiums pre-and post-DUI.

Pre-DUIPost-DUIPercentage increase
National$1,674$3,33699%
Florida$2,364$3,50348%

Car insurance premiums almost double nationally after a DUI. The average increase in annual premiums is 48% in Florida. Floridians will still be paying high premiums due to the fact that Florida’s average annual premium is higher than the national average.

What is the cost of car insurance for someone who has been convicted of a DUI in Florida

Insurance premiums after DUIs vary by auto insurer. Below is a table that shows what drivers pay for insurance in Florida with different providers. Your DUI severity and past driving convictions may affect how much you pay. It is possible for an insurance company to decide not to renew your policy following a DUI conviction.

To reinstate your Florida license, you must submit proof of insurance (FR-44) if you are convicted for DUI. To comply with the FR 44 requirements, you must increase your state minimum liability limits.

Florida offers full coverage with DUI

Rates may not reflect any changes, as some carriers won’t renew your contract if you are convicted of DUI.

ProviderAverage full coverage rate for an average yearDUI coverage: Full coverage annually
Allstate$2,441$3,177
Direct General$2,766$3,074
Geico$2,085$2,985
MetLife$2,830$4,952
Progressive$2,573$3,115
State Farm$1,739$2,679

Other Florida DUI penalties

DUIs often come with many other consequences. There may be fees, probation or imprisonment. Your DUI conviction severity will determine how severe your consequences. The severity of your punishment will depend on how many DUI convictions you have. Drivers convicted of DUI will often face severe penalties if they cause injury or death to another person.

ALSO READ  What Is Hazard Insurance?

Questions frequently asked

What is BAC and how does it measure?

BAC is the blood alcohol content. It refers to how much alcohol you have in your blood. A police officer may conduct field tests to determine your level of sobriety if you are pulled over for drunk driving. He or she may also ask you to inhale into a breathalyzer device that determines your BAC.

What is the BAC required for a DUI conviction?

A DUI is a BAC above.08 in Florida. A BAC of.04 for commercial vehicles is illegal. If you’re under 21, the level is.02. Even lower BACs could still affect your driving ability and pose a risk to others.

What is an FR44?

An FR-44 form is one that your insurance company files. This form is used to prove that the driver has met all of his or her insurance obligations. An FR-44 form is usually required for drivers who have been convicted of DUI. Drivers are required to keep their car insurance (or buy coverage if they weren’t insured) and to have their insurer send the correct document to the Florida DMV. Drivers convicted of DUI must have liability limits of $100,000 per person, $300,000. per accident, and $50,000 per property damage to meet FR-44 requirements.

ALSO READ  Cheapest car insurance in Iowa for 2021