Your car insurance premium can be affected by many factors. Your driving record is one of the most important factors that determines your premium. Insurance companies consider your credit score, age and claims history when calculating your rate.
The lowest rates are paid to drivers with a clean driving record. People with poor driving records typically pay the highest rates. A DUI or DWI conviction can lead to severe consequences for your car insurance premium.
What does a DUI do to your insurance rates?
The first thing you should know is that a DUI in Texas is often referred to simply as a DWI. However, a DWI can have a significant impact on your insurance rates. DWI-convicted drivers are extremely dangerous to insure. Driving under the influence can be one of the most dangerous activities a person can do. Accidents are more likely to occur when impaired drivers drive. Insurance companies must compensate for this risk by increasing coverage.
Your insurance premium can rocket if you have a single DWI conviction on your driving record. If you have multiple DWIs on your driving record, you may face a steeper rate increase or difficulties obtaining insurance. However, a DWI conviction in Texas may have a less impact on your insurance rate than other states. Below is a table that shows the average annual rate rise in Texas for DWI convictions compared to the United States.
Average annual rates of full coverage for DUI/DWI – National vs. State
|Pre-DUI/DWI||After DUI/DWI||Percentage increase|
What is the cost of insurance for a DWI in Texas after you have been arrested?
Each Texas car insurance company approaches car insurance rates following a DWI differently. While some providers will increase your rate $100, others could increase it by more than $1,000. If you are convicted of DUI, some providers may not allow you to renew your policy.
Below are the average annual car Insurance Rates for full coverage policies and minimum coverage policies from top Texas car insurance providers.
Texas provider minimum coverage rates
|Provider||Average minimum coverage rate||DWI coverage minimum|
|All over the country||$499||$921|
|State Auto Insurance||$628||$1,193|
Texas offers full coverage rates for DWI
|Provider||Average coverage rate||DWI coverage at full rate|
|All over the country||$1,362||$2,269|
|State Auto Insurance||$2,508||$4,817|
Other Texas DWI Conequences
DWI insurance rates in Texas can be expensive. However, drivers who are convicted of DWI will not only face higher insurance premiums. Drivers convicted of a first DWI offense will face a $2,000 fine, a suspension of their driver’s licence for up to one-year, and up to 180 days imprisonment (with three mandatory days).
Drivers who are convicted of a second DWI offense will face a $4,000 fine, a suspension of their driver’s licence for up to two years, and a one-month to one-year sentence in jail. Texas drivers can be fined $10,000 and lose their driving privileges up to two years. They could also face between two and 10 years imprisonment.
Driving drunk with a minor in Texas is a serious offense. Drivers found in this situation face child endangerment charges and can be fined up to $10,000 A conviction can result in up to 2 years imprisonment and a license suspension of 180 days, depending on the number committed.
What length of time does a Texas DUI stay on my record?
A Texas DUI or DWI will generally stay on your driving record throughout your entire life. A DUI usually stops affecting your car insurance rates after several years. While that number might vary, it will not affect your car insurance rates forever.
Which Texas insurance company is the most affordable for DUI drivers?
It depends on many factors. You should keep in mind that insurance rates vary for every driver. Your age, credit score and claims history, as well as the type of car you drive, will all impact the cost of your policy.
What is the minimum amount of Texas car insurance required after a DUI conviction?
Texas car insurance laws are the same regardless of driving record and DUI history. Texas’ minimum liability insurance requirement for drivers is 30/60/25. Texas’ minimum coverage policy includes $30,000 for bodily injuries per person, $60,000 per accident in bodily damage coverage and $25,000 per accident in property damage coverage. An SR-22 will most likely also be required.