Auto insurance for high-risk drivers in Arkansas

Finding affordable insurance for high-risk drivers in Arkansas can be challenging. While every insurance company will offer different quotes for different factors, many insurance companies will raise annual car insurance premiums to high-risk drivers. High-risk drivers are those who have been cited for speeding or multiple tickets, involved in an accident, or received a DUI. There were approximately 2300 car accidents in Arkansas.

Arkansas rates for high-risk auto insurance

Different rates are offered by different insurance companies depending on the individual application process. The average cost of full-coverage car insurance in the United States is $1,674 per year, but this can vary depending on where you live and the individual driver. Rates can also vary depending on the driver. Car insurance companies will consider the driver’s age, driving record, vehicle make and models, credit score, and gender when assessing risk. High-risk factors include speeding tickets, DUIs, and records of accidents. These factors can increase your premium with Arkansas car insurers.

Rates for speeding tickets

Drivers who are given a speeding ticket in Arkansas typically have their car insurance rates increased. The average increase that drivers experience after receiving a speeding ticket can vary from 2% to 54% depending on which car insurance provider they have.

Drivers who speed may face higher insurance premiums and other penalties. If you are convicted of speeding more than 15 mph over the limit, Arkansas can impose fines up to $100 and time in jail up to 10 days. A second offense within one year could result in fines of up to $200 and up to 20 days imprisonment. A third offense or subsequent offense in a single year can result in fines up to $500, and drivers could spend up to six months behind bars.

Below is a chart showing the average annual premium for full insurance coverage prior to and after a speeding violation and the percent increase.

Rates for an accident

Another reason you may be eligible for high-risk insurance rates is if you are involved in an Arkansas accident. An accident in Arkansas can result in a driver seeing a 11% to 100% increase in their premium. The Arkansas provider will determine the percentage of the premium increase.

Drivers may also face higher insurance premiums and other penalties after an accident. Arkansas drivers who are involved in an accident at fault will typically have at least 3 points added on their license. You may need to pay out-of-pocket for accident expenses depending on your coverage.

An accident can cause significant damage to your vehicle and medical costs. Below is the chart that shows the average annual premium of full coverage prior to and after an accident. It also shows the average percentage change by provider.

Rates for DWI

Most insurers will classify you as high-risk if you have been convicted of driving while impaired (DUI) and driving while intoxicated(DWI). Under the laws of Arkansas, DWIs can be either a felony (or a misdemeanor). It is determined by how many times the offense was committed in a 5-year period. A felony is more serious than a misdemeanor.

Arkansas has many other penalties that could be applied to a DUI/DWI conviction. A DUI conviction for the first offense can result in a $100-$500 fine, community service, and a license suspension of up to 90 days. A second offense could result in a DUI penalty of $200 to $1,000, minimum 30 days community service, and up to one-year license suspension. For subsequent offenses, you could face fines up to $2,000 and 60 days of community service. You may also be subject to license suspension for up to three-years.

Finally, you may be required to have an SR-22 or F-44 in certain states after a DUI conviction.

The annual premium for full coverage following a DWI is typically higher than for other traffic violations. It could rise from 26% to 91% depending on which car insurance provider.

Teen drivers: Rate

Arkansas car insurance rates are usually higher when you add a teenage driver. Teen drivers are considered to be more at risk than those with more experience driving. Teen drivers are more likely to get into an accident or speed because they lack experience.

The data below shows that premiums for full coverage could rise to $4,721. A teen driver might not cause a significant increase in premiums with other providers. Younger drivers can be seen as more risky to car insurance companies because they have less experience. However, this could change as the driving laws and driving rules change.

Who are high-risk drivers?

Bankrate uses the term “high-risk driver” to describe drivers who have been issued speeding tickets, are involved in an accident, or were convicted of DUI.

A high-risk driver is someone who is more likely than others to file an insurance claim under their car insurance policy. For example, claims history and driving records can be used to determine if a driver is more likely than others to file an insurance claim. A driver with poor credit, a history of speeding tickets or car accidents is more likely than an average driver to indicate to insurers that they will file more claims.

How to lower your rate for high-risk drivers

There are many ways to lower your rates, even though being a high-risk driver can raise insurers’ risk awareness and driver insurance premiums. Here are some tips to help lower your rates:

  • Look for discounts such as student discounts, vehicle ownership, and safety features.
  • Learn defensive driving.
  • Maintain good grades.
  • Bundle policies like car, renters, and home.
  • Compare multiple quotes.
  • Keep a high credit score.
  • Look into low mileage discounts.
  • A higher deductible is an option.

Questions frequently asked

If you are convicted of a DUI in Arkansas, can you still get car insurance?

Drivers who are convicted of a DUI in Arkansas could face additional penalties. Depending on the amount of traffic violations and offenses, some car insurance companies might deny coverage. Arkansas has many car insurance companies that offer coverage. However, they tend to charge higher rates.

Which Arkansas car insurance companies offer the lowest rates for high-risk drivers?

Every car insurance company assesses risk differently. There are many types of car insurance risks, including speeding, accidents, DUIs, DWIs, and insuring teens. For example, drivers with speeding tickets may have the lowest car insurance. This is because increases are less severe. However, it all depends on each driver and applicant.

Are there discounts available for high-risk drivers?

Many insurance professionals recommend that high-risk drivers who have high car insurance rates use available discounts to lower their premiums. You can also reduce your rates by increasing your deductible, enrolling for auto-pay, or taking defensive driving courses.