Auto insurance for high-risk drivers in Louisiana

The average American driver pays $1,674 annually for car insurance. Drivers can pay more or less depending upon their geographic location and other personal characteristics such as credit score, driving record, and age. The rates in Louisiana may be higher due to other factors. Louisiana car insurance companies determine the premiums and whether or not to insure drivers based on the risk they pose.

Insurers consider a high-risk person to be someone more likely to file a claim. High-risk drivers are more likely to have their insurance claims denied because of their risky driving habits. For example, in 2017, 11045 speeding tickets were issued by the state, which could result in higher rates for speeding drivers.

Bankrate’s base profile shows that rates for high-risk drivers are those who have been cited for speeding, been in an accident or suffered a coverage lapse. Louisiana also has high-risk teens.

Louisiana rates for high-risk auto insurance

Car insurance rates can vary according to each provider. Some offer more affordable premiums while others are more expensive. Each provider of car insurance has its own application and underwriting process. The rates for high-risk drivers may vary depending on the driver’s specific factors.

Car insurance companies usually take into account drivers’ ages and driving records, marital status, gender, and other characteristics. Drivers at high risk are evaluated based on their history of accidents, DUIs, speeding tickets, and other incidents.

The Louisiana DMV will notify a driver who is caught speeding. The points from the speeding ticket may be added to a driver’s license. In this case, an insurance company might identify them as high-risk drivers. The national average percentage increase for full-coverage car insurance following a speeding ticket is between 8% and 41% depending on which car insurance provider.

Speeding is against Louisiana’s driving laws. However, speeding penalties vary depending on the speed that a driver is going. Louisiana’s speed limit is 75 mph on interstates and highways, and 65 mph on multi-lane highways with limited or no access. Speeding beyond these speeds is illegal. In Louisiana, speeding is punishable by higher insurance premiums and other consequences. Speeding can result in fines of up to $300. Other charges such as reckless driving or speeding can also be brought against you.

Rates for an accident

Car insurance companies are also concerned about accidents. Insurance premiums could rise if a Louisiana driver is involved in an accident. A high-risk driving record can result in insurance companies being placed on the high-risk list. According to the national average rates, drivers may experience a 1% increase in their full coverage premiums. This could be anywhere from a minimum 14% up to a maximum 48% depending on where they live. Car insurance companies in Louisiana vary on the percentage of an increase and how much it costs to insure your car after an accident.

Louisiana has specific laws regarding car accidents. Drivers could be subject to more severe penalties depending on their car insurance coverage. It is illegal in Louisiana to drive a vehicle without complying with the minimum insurance requirements. Driving without $15,000 for bodily injury coverage per person, up to $30,000 per incident, and $25,000 for property damage coverage could result in a driver having to pay all accident costs out-of-pocket or being charged with violating Louisiana’s insurance laws.

Rates for DUI

Driving under the Influence (DUI) is also known as Operating under the Influence (UI). It is illegal in Louisiana and all other states in the U.S. The first and second DUI offenses in Louisiana are misdemeanors. Louisiana’s maximum legal blood alcohol content is.08% (for adults) and.02% (for drivers under 21). A conviction for driving with a blood alcohol level higher than 0.15 could result in harsher penalties. DUIs in Louisiana are serious traffic offenses. A conviction of one could stay on your record for many years. This could impact your ability to renew, purchase, or obtain affordable car insurance. The average increase in premiums after a DUI is 25%. It could rise to 18%.

Additional penalties for DUI in Louisiana include fines ranging from $300 to $1,000, ten days to six month imprisonment and license suspension up to a full year (or more if your BAC is.20% or higher). You might also have to complete community service hours, or a substance abuse program.

A driver who is convicted of a second offense could face penalties including a fine between $750 and $1,000, 30 days to six month imprisonment, and license suspension up to two years. A driver may be required to perform 240 hours community service. A third offense can result in up to $2,000 fines, one to five year imprisonment, and three years license suspension. After a DUI conviction, some Louisiana drivers might be required to have an SR-22 and FR-44.

Teen drivers: Rate

Insurance companies consider teens drivers high-risk because they lack road experience. A policy for a teen driver can cost anywhere from $824 to $4,725 annually.

Teen drivers are drivers who are between the ages of 15 and 19. Teen drivers are more likely to be in a fatal accident , particularly when driving at night. teenagers in Louisiana must adhere to the state law stating that they cannot drive between 11 p.m. (or 5 a.m.) unless accompanied or supervised by a parent. All applicants to Louisiana license must complete a licensing program. They must also start with a learner permit.

Who are high-risk drivers?

The insurance industry considers a high-risk driver anyone between the ages of 15 and 19 years old who has been in an accident or received a speeding ticket. A high-risk driver is someone who is more likely than the average driver to file an insurance claim.

Bankrate’s high-risk sample driver is one who has had at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, DUIs, and lapses in coverage. A driving record that includes an accident, speeding ticket, or DUI will increase the likelihood of you filing an insurance claim. Insurance companies use past behavior to predict how they would treat you if they were to insure you.

How to lower your rate for high-risk drivers

There are many ways to lower your car insurance rate, even if you’re a high-risk driver who must pay higher premiums.

  • If you are able to afford the higher out of pocket costs, increase your deductible for car insurance premiums.
  • Learn defensive driving.
  • Keep a high credit score.
  • For discounts, enroll in auto-pay
  • Change car insurance companies
  • Get car insurance discounts.
  • Bundle insurance policies

Questions frequently asked

Which insurance company is the most affordable for high-risk drivers and what are their rates?

Every insurance company is different depending on how it processes applications and how they underwrite. Because of personal factors, the cheapest insurance company may not be the best for you. There are many top Louisiana insurance companies that offer affordable rates.

You can reduce your insurance rates even if the driver is high-risk.

There are many ways to lower your Louisiana car insurance, even if you’re a high-risk driver. You can lower your car insurance by enrolling in autopay, bundling your insurance and taking advantage of low-mileage, safety features or student discounts.