In 2018, Maryland issued more than 1.5 millions speeding tickets by cameras. Maryland considers anyone who is cited for speeding, involved in an accident, or has a DUI a high-risk driver. It can be difficult to find affordable car insurance for a high-risk driver or renew an existing policy.
Each car insurance agency in Maryland has a different underwriting process. However, the majority of them agree that all of these characteristics, along with being a teenager driver, are high-risk. Drivers may consider high-risk insurance from Maryland companies.
Maryland rates for high-risk auto insurance
Each car insurance company in Maryland has its own application process. However, high-risk drivers almost always pay a higher premium. The average driver in the United States pays $1,674 per year for full coverage car insurance. However, this rate can vary depending on where you live and what each driver is driving. Car insurance companies will also consider driver-specific factors such as age, driving record, credit score, and gender in determining the risk of insuring someone. Maryland considers high-risk teens as young drivers starting at 16 years old, those who have been convicted of DUI or were cited for speeding in Maryland.
Rates for speeding tickets
Breaking the law is when you drive faster than the maximum speed limit in your state. Speeding tickets may be immediately recorded on your driving record. Points can also appear on your driver’s licence. This information can be identified by insurance companies during the application process and will usually lead to higher insurance premiums. Maryland drivers could see an increase of 1% in their car insurance premiums for full coverage after speeding.
Other penalties for speeding are a fine and points that will be added to your license. Maryland law allows drivers to speed at speeds above the posted speed limit. A driver who exceeds the posted speed limit of one to nine miles per an hour could face a $80 fine and one point on his or her license. They could be fined $90 and get two points on their license if they speed over the limit of 10-19 miles.
Exceeding the speed limit of 29 miles can result in fines up to $290 and five points. If a driver is reckless in driving, Maryland may consider it reckless driving. This could lead to up to $1,000 in fines.
Rates for an at-fault injury
A Maryland at-fault car accident could lead to higher insurance premiums. Another way insurance companies classify high risk drivers is through an at-fault collision. After a car accident, the average car insurance premium increase could be anywhere from 26% to 91%.
Maryland has minimum insurance requirements. They include $30,000 for bodily injuries for one person, $60,000 for two or more persons and $15,000 to cover property damage. If a driver is not covered by the minimum Maryland car insurance requirements and is involved in an accident, they may have to pay all costs out of pocket. Maryland drivers could face additional penalties depending on the circumstances of an accident, such as a hit-and run or speeding.
Rates for DUI
Maryland has a law against driving under the influence. Insurance companies also consider this a high-risk category. The average increase in car insurance premiums following a DUI can range from 19% to 302% per annum, depending on which car insurance provider is used and other driver-related factors.
A first offense of a DUI in Maryland could result in a $1,000 fine, upto one year in prison, 12 points on your driving record, and license revocation up to six months. A driver who is convicted of a second DUI offense could face a $2,000 fine and up to two years in jail. They also may be subject to 12 points on their driving record, license revocation, and a license suspension of up to one year. Drivers could also be required to sign up for an ignition interlock program.
Teen drivers: Rate
Because of their inexperience as teen drivers, 16-year-olds and older are considered to be high risk in the Old Line State. Teen drivers are more at risk than adults and are more likely to file insurance claims due to the statistically higher likelihood of them being involved in an accident or getting a speeding ticket. Maryland’s high-risk auto insurance rates could cost you $1,030 to $2699 annually depending on which insurance provider you choose.
Maryland’s learner permit allows a teen to drive for as long as a licensed adult of at least 21 years old is present. While laws regarding teens driving may change as Maryland strengthens its laws for young drivers, they are likely to remain the same.
Who are high-risk drivers?
Bankrate’s high-risk profile sample is based upon a driver who has been convicted of DUI, received a speeding ticket or been involved in an accident. According to industry standards, high-risk drivers are those who are more likely than others to file a claim for car insurance. These are the characteristics that car insurance companies consider when assessing risk. Teen drivers can also be considered high-risk because their driving record can help predict future outcomes.
How to lower your rate for high-risk drivers
There are many ways to lower your insurance rates even if you’re a high-risk driver. Here are some ways to lower your rates:
- Get mileage-based insurance if you drive less.
- Get car insurance discounts for students and good grades.
- Raise your credit score.
- Change your car insurance company
Questions frequently asked
What car insurance company offers the lowest auto insurance rates in Maryland for high risk drivers?
Every car insurance company will provide you with a quote based upon your driving habits. The most affordable car insurance rates for Maryland high-risk drivers are those that offer low premiums and a variety discounts.
Is it possible to increase my car insurance premiums by adding a 16-year-old?
Yes, you can add a 16-year old to your car insurance policy to increase your premiums. Statistics show that teens are more likely to be involved in an accident or get a ticket for speeding. High-risk drivers are a result.