The pandemic caused a decline in Ohio’s number of drivers. However, high-risk drivers used the opportunity to speed. Between April and September 2020, Ohio officers issued 2200 speeding tickets to drivers who drove faster than 100 mph, an increase of 61% from the previous year. According to the Ohio State Highway Patrol, 5,291 drivers were stopped throughout the year for operating a vehicle while intoxicated.
Many drivers make mistakes on their driving records that lead to infractions. car insurance often consider these drivers to be a higher risk to insure. High-risk drivers in Ohio are subject to higher premiums. We define high-risk as any driver who has had at least one accident at fault, speeding ticket, DUI/OVI conviction, or is a teen driver.
Ohio rates for high-risk auto insurance
We used national premium data from multiple insurers to determine the average price of car insurance in Ohio for high-risk drivers. We also estimated the rates for the following situations:
- One speeding ticket
- One at-fault accident
- One DUI/OVI conviction
- A teen driver
When determining your premium, companies will not only consider your driving record and age. You may also be eligible for discounts based on your geographic location, vehicle type, credit scores, and other factors. It is possible to get the best car insurance in Ohio by comparing customized quotes from several providers.
Rates for speeding tickets
A single speeding ticket can result in a premium hike of at least 19% for full coverage car insurance. This is based on the annual premiums quoted by the carriers below. Ohio drivers are more likely to be charged higher premiums for subsequent infractions.
Additionally, Ohio has a points system that penalizes traffic offenses. If you accumulate enough points, your license could be suspended. Although it is possible to receive a speeding ticket with no points, most drivers are given 2-4 points for speeding. You could lose your driver’s license if you receive 12 points in a period of two years.
Rates for an accident
If you are involved in an Ohio accident, your premium will increase by at least 16% unless you have accident forgiveness. A premium increase of at least 16% for more than one accident within the last 3-5 years, depending on how long your insurer has been looking back. You may see your rates rise even if the accident was not your fault. Talk to your provider about how this might affect you.
Points may be assessed to your driver’s licence if you are cited for a traffic violation. An Ohio at-fault car accident can have serious financial consequences. The other driver may sue you for the amount of your liability insurance that does not cover it. If you do not have full coverage insurance, you could be required to pay additional expenses such as damage to your vehicle or medical expenses.
Rates for DUI in Ohio
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs can be dangerous and could result in others’ deaths. Ohio law enforcement and insurance companies both take this offense very seriously. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, one third of fatal crashes are caused by drunk drivers. Your rates could be doubled by insurance companies. Ohio carrier data for 2021 shows a 107% increase in the rates of drivers who have a DUI/OVI conviction.
A first offense can result in several legal consequences. These include a maximum $1,075, a minimum of three days in jail, attendance at a Driver’s Intervention Program, up to five years probation, and a license suspension up to three years. For subsequent offenses, you can expect to pay higher fines and spend more time in jail.
Rates for teenage drivers
According to the Center for Disease Control (CDC), drivers aged 16-19 are three times more likely to be in a fatal accident than older drivers. This means that adding a 16 year old driver to your Ohio family car insurance policy could have a significant effect on the premium. Some insurance companies offer lower rates for teens than others. It is therefore important to shop around when your child turns 16.
Who are high-risk drivers?
A high-risk driver is someone who has at least one speeding ticket or at-fault car accident or DUI/OVI conviction. High-risk drivers are more broadly defined by insurance companies. If you have the following:
- Bad credit
- In the past 3-5 years, one or more at-fault incidents
- Speeding tickets and other citations
- Conviction of DUI/DWI/OVI
- A SR-22 or FR-22 must be met
- Unauthorized coverage
- A luxury or sports car
- Your policy covers a teen driver
- A home address located in an area that is prone to vandalism and theft
How to lower your rate for high-risk drivers
- Compare car insurance rates: Each insurance company will weigh your information differently. It is possible that you will find your rates are higher with one insurance company than with another. To see if switching providers might save you money, use an online tool to compare rates and get quotes from multiple Ohio car insurers.
- You can take a defensive driving class: Many insurance companies will offer a discount on your annual premium for taking a approved driving course.
- You can take advantage of low-mileage and safe driving programs. Some insurance companies offer telematics and app-based programs that reward drivers who drive safely or less often. Participation may result in a cash rebate or discount. Before you sign up, make sure to read the terms. Some insurers may increase your rate if you don’t drive safely.
- Ask your insurer about whether you are eligible for any other discounts. Many insurance companies offer discounts to homeowners, students and drivers who combine multiple policies. Ask for discounts if you’re a high-risk driver and are looking for a new policy.
- Increase your deductible. This is a way to share some of your financial responsibility with your insurer. Higher deductibles mean lower premiums and vice versa. Your premium savings could be higher depending on how high you raise your deductible. Discuss the recommended deductible amount with your agent. In some cases, a minimum amount may be required.
- Reduce your coverage limits. Although Ohio state minimum liability limits must be met, other coverages may not apply depending on your vehicle’s age and condition. Even though having minimum liability coverage may be less expensive, an accident that leaves you without adequate insurance coverage could prove to be costly. Your agent can assist you in weighing the benefits and costs of your desired coverage levels.
Most Frequently Asked Questions
What are the minimum requirements for car insurance in Ohio?
Car insurance in Ohio is required for all persons driving a vehicle. The following coverage requirements must be met in order to have an active policy of insurance:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury liability coverage
- $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident
- $25,000 per accident for property damage liability coverage
What will my Ohio premium be if I have a poor credit rating?
Yes. Yes. In Ohio and most other states, insurance companies use credit-based insurance scores, which are based on information from your credit report, in determining your premium. research shows a correlation between lower scores and more costly claims. Bad credit can impact your premium in different ways with different insurers. To get the best rates, you should work to improve your credit score and pay less.
Are car insurance premiums affected by age?
Insurance premiums tend to decline with age. However, there may be an increase in rates for older drivers. In 2021 , the average car insurance premium for 18-year olds was $5,385 per year, while those aged 60 and over paid just $1,405. Drivers in their 20s and 30s saw the largest decreases each year.