Auto insurance for high-risk drivers in Virginia

Author:

In 2019, Virginia saw more than 128,000 crashes. High-risk driving behavior, such as teen driving and speeding, was a major cause of many of the crashes (58,771)

Finding affordable car insurance in Virginia for high-risk drivers can be difficult because insurers penalize policyholders who have poor driving records by raising their rates. Our team analyzed the rates that top Virginia auto insurance companies charge high-risk drivers. This includes drivers with at-fault accidents, DUI convictions, speeding tickets, and lapses in coverage.

Virginia rates for high-risk auto insurance

High-risk drivers will pay more because insurance companies must evaluate the risk of each policyholder on the basis of their driving records. The driving record and other factors will determine how much they pay for insurance. Different providers penalize drivers differently. Some may impose harsher rates than others, while others will increase their average rates for the same offense.

Rates for speeding tickets

Virginia speeding is a serious offense. In fact, driving one mile above the posted speed limit can result in three demerit points to your license. Your license could be suspended if you accumulate 12 points in a period of 12 months. Virginia drivers who are cited for speeding will see their insurance rates rise between 11% to 51%. Below is an example of what Virginia car insurance providers charge policyholders for their policies. This includes both the cost before and after a single speeding ticket.

ALSO READ  Affordable Auto Insurance in Texas - 4 Steps to Low Prices

Rates for an accident

In Virginia, drivers who are found to be at fault for causing an accident are legally responsible for any personal, emotional, or physical damages they cause. To prove fault in an accident, the plaintiff must show that the driver was negligent, whether reckless, distracted, or any other type of careless behavior.

In these cases of car accidents, insurance providers are involved in the settlement process and will be able to tell you what the at-fault driver contributed to the damage. Your insurance provider could raise your rates by 7% to 92% depending on the severity of the accident and the actions that led to it. The data below shows this:

Rates for DUI

Virginia is very serious about driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. There are many alcohol- and drug-related offenses in Virginia that go beyond what is required to be a DUI. Drivers who have an open container in a passenger area of a car may also face charges for an alcohol-related crime.

ALSO READ  How To Safely Navigate Your Company To A Healthy Destination

Driving while impaired can lead to severe consequences. An administrative suspension of your license for one week and a maximum $300 penalty will be imposed on a first offense. A court order for restitution is issued by the court in the form either an Alcohol Safety Action Program completion, ignition lock device installation, or restricted driver’s licence. A permanent mark will be placed on the criminal record of the driver.

Virginia requires DUI-convicted drivers to file an FR44 Financial Responsibility Certificate — a special document that certifies the driver has auto insurance coverage that is much more comprehensive than the state’s requirement for drivers who are not convicted. High-drivers with a DUI will find it harder to get affordable car insurance in Virginia. These rates show how much higher the rate will go for such an offense.

Teen drivers: Rate

In Virginia, teen driving was responsible for 573 injuries and 54 deaths in 2018. The Centers for Disease Control (CDC) states that drivers between 16 and 19 years old are more likely than any other age to be in a motor vehicle accident. Insurance providers charge more for teens because of their inexperience. These rates will drop as the driver proves a good driving record. Parents who add a 16-year old driver to their auto insurance policy will pay the following:

ALSO READ  California Wildfires - What to Do If You're Forced to Evacuate From Your Home Or Business?

Who are high-risk drivers?

Bankrate defined high-risk drivers as those who have at least one of these violations when they were researching rates for this article.

  • Conviction for DUI
  • Speeding ticket
  • At-fault accident
  • Coverage gaps

This definition is not consistent with the insurance provider’s standard criteria for determining whether a driver is high risk. This standard definition of high-risk driver states that a driver with a higher chance of filing a claim against their insurance company than the average is. A high-risk driver could also be someone who:

  • Are you caught driving without a permit?
  • Drive recklessly
  • A poor driving record
  • What is a new driver?
  • A high-risk vehicle such as an exotic, supercar, sports, or collectible car
  • Are you 70 years old or older?

Talk to your agent to find out if your insurer considers you a high-risk driver.

How to lower your rate for high-risk drivers

High-risk drivers will pay higher premiums to be covered, but there are steps they could take to lower their financial obligations, such as:

  • Compare rates: Insurance providers may not all determine risk in the same manner. Therefore, some carriers may impose a lesser penalty for the same offense. You can shop around to find out what other providers charge for the same record if your rates are higher than you believe is fair.
  • Discounts available: Auto insurance companies offer many discounts for policyholders. These discounts can range from installing safe driving monitors to continue saving to being smart students. To ensure that you get the best savings, make sure you fully understand the discounts offered by your provider.
  • You can wait it out. As the incident passes, your premium will likely decrease and you might be able get rates that are comparable to the average driver. Most insurance companies only consider the last five years of driving history (or 11 years in the case if you are convicted of DUI). This is why it may be possible to get more affordable coverage.
ALSO READ  A Guide To Shop Insurance

Questions frequently asked

Which insurance company is best for high-risk drivers?

The best high-risk driver car insurance company depends on what type of traffic violation was committed and the charges that the provider has to you for it. You should shop around for the best insurance company, as not all insurance companies penalize drivers the same way.

What is the best car insurance in Virginia?

Your driving record, personal details, whereabouts, and eligibility for discounts will determine the best car insurance provider in Virginia. It is best to compare multiple quotes to determine the most affordable option.

How much car insurance do Virginia drivers need?

Virginia law states that drivers must have the following policy limits in order to be able to drive legally in the state.

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per individual
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $20,000 per accident property damage liability

Virginia allows drivers to opt out of auto insurance and pay a $500 annual uninsured motorist fee. Drivers who opt for this option will still be responsible financially for any damages they cause to others.

ALSO READ  How to read a home insurance policy

However, if a DUI conviction is made, the driver must file an FR-44 Financial Responsibility Certificate.

  • $50k bodily injury liability per individual
  • Accidental bodily injury liability of $100,000
  • $40,000 per accident property damage liability