Over 1.4 Million licensed drivers are in Nebraska. However, each driver pays an individual rate for car insurance based on their unique characteristics. Nebraska’s average car insurance cost is $335 for minimum coverage, and $1,531 per year for full coverage. Because auto insurance rates are determined by many factors, the rates of each driver can vary greatly.
What is the cost of Nebraska car insurance?
Rates for car insurance in Nebraska are determined by a number of factors. To determine your rate, carriers use factors such as age, gender and marital status.
Nebraska drivers pay an average $335 annually for minimum coverage and $1,531 per year for full coverage. This is significantly lower than the US average where the average driver pays $565 annually for minimum coverage and $1647 for full coverage.
Nebraska auto insurance rates by company
Comparing multiple insurance companies is the best way to make sure you’re not only getting the lowest rates in Nebraska but also the best for your driving habits.
Nebraska auto insurance rates by location
The average insurance cost in Nebraska is affected by where you live. However, the price of auto insurance depends on the location you live.
Nebraska car insurance rates based on age
The price of car insurance is heavily influenced by your age. Although most people assume that a 16-year-old pays the most, the table shows that 18- and 20 year-olds pay the highest rates.
Nebraska car insurance rates based on driving record
Your driving record can have a significant impact on car Insurance rates in Nebraska. A speeding ticket will increase your annual premium by 15% on average, but drivers who have been in an accident or are under the influence of drugs and alcohol can see much higher rates.
How to Save on Nebraska Car Insurance
There are many discounts that can be used to save money on Nebraska car insurance. Common discounts include:
- Multi-policy discount: If you buy your auto insurance from the same company as your homeowners and renters insurance, the multi-policy discount is one of the most popular.
- Safety equipment: You may be eligible for additional discounts if your car has safety equipment. Examples of safety equipment include anti-lock brakes and anti-theft systems, as well as driver and passenger airbags.
- Defensive driving: Many carriers offer discounts if you complete a defensive driving class. These courses are available online or in person and will teach you valuable driving safety techniques. To get this discount, you must take a course that is approved by your carrier to earn credit and receive your discount.
- Paid in full: You may be eligible for additional savings if you pay your semi-annual or annual premiums in full instead of monthly installments. You will not only get a discount but also avoid any additional fees that carriers might charge for your installments.
Questions frequently asked
Is Nebraska considered a state of no-fault?
Nebraska is not considered to be a state without fault. Nebraska is subject to the at-fault laws. This means that the driver deemed at-fault for property damage or medical payments is financially responsible.
What amount of auto insurance do you need in Nebraska
Nebraska has minimal liability requirements for insurance, which include:
- $25,000 per person liability coverage for bodily injuries or death
- $50,000 coverage for bodily injury and death per accident
- $25,000 coverage for property damage per accident
You may not be able to get enough financial protection if you only purchase the minimum requirements. It is best to consult with an insurance agent licensed to help you choose the right amount of coverage to fit your budget.