Connecticut’s auto insurance requirements, like those in other states, are set by the state government. They must be followed in order to drive legally. Connecticut requires liability coverage in order to cover both property damage as well as injuries for anyone who is at fault in an accident. It also requires you to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in case the other driver does not have insurance or has too little insurance to pay the bills.
Connecticut minimum car insurance is 25/50/25, along with 25/50 for underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage. These are the minimum requirements, but it does not necessarily mean that you will be adequately covered in an accident.
To get the best coverage, you should purchase as many insurance policies as you can afford. Although it will be more expensive, this can prove to be a good investment in the long-term. The minimum coverage cost in Connecticut is $672. Full coverage costs $1,605.
Connecticut has laws regarding car insurance
Below is a breakdown on what your auto policy should include in order to legally drive:
- $25,000 bodily injuries coverage per accident, per individual
- $50K bodily injury coverage per accident (if more than one person has been injured).
- $25,000 for property damage
- $25,000 per accident per person for uninsured and underinsured drivers
- For uninsured and underinsured drivers, $50,000 per accident
This means that even if you have only the minimum legal coverage, and are involved in an accident that is not your fault, your insurance will pay for the medical bills or lost wages of the injured driver or passenger. Your insurance will cover up to $50,000 if more than one person is hurt.
If the other driver is driving illegally or has insufficient insurance, you are covered up to $25,000 per individual and $50,000 per accident.
Connecticut has liability insurance
Connecticut insurance laws include liability insurance. In Connecticut, liability means that you are responsible for something. This would include medical and other costs related to injuries or property damage.
is sufficient. Most insurance professionals agree that you should have as much coverage as possible. For example, if you cause internal injuries to another driver, which will require surgery, this is an accident. The U.S. has high medical costs and the minimum $25,000 may be exhausted in a matter days.
Think about what happens if you hit an expensive car like a BMW or Tesla worth more than the $25,000. You would have to pay $15,000 extra if you hit an SUV that is worth $40,000, and your insurance would only cover $25,000
It’s a smart idea to weigh your risk tolerance and ability to pay premiums against the minimum requirements. You can also purchase additional liability such as 100/300/100. Although it may be more expensive now, it could save your life if you are involved in a serious accident.
Is Connecticut a state of no-fault?
This is because Connecticut doesn’t include it in its insurance requirements. You don’t need PIP insurance and you can still sue for injuries if you are hurt in an accident.
Driving without insurance in Connecticut carries a heavy penalty
If you do not have Connecticut auto insurance, there are many penalties. Even if you do have insurance, you could be subject to a $50 fine. However, proof of insurance must always be present when you drive.
You could be subject to a $100-$1,000 fine if you don’t have car insurance. Your license may also be suspended. The maximum fine for a vehicle registered as a commercial vehicle is $5,000. This could also include jail time. A license reinstatement fee of $175 is required. There may also be additional fines, depending on your circumstances.
Other auto insurance options available in Connecticut
Connecticut drivers have access to many types of insurance, including UM/UIM and LIability. Many insurance companies offer additional coverage that is worth looking into, such as the following:
- Collision – Liability covers damage to other drivers’ cars and property. However, collision insurance will cover your car. Collision covers your vehicle in the event that it is involved in an accident.
- Comprehensive Insurance: Commonly sold with collision insurance, comprehensive covers all mishaps to your vehicle other than an accident.
- Medical payments This pays for your medical expenses and those of your passengers in an accident that the other driver’s insurer will not cover. This covers lost wages, funeral expenses, and may even be covered if you are pedestrian struck by a vehicle. You should check your insurance policy to confirm that it covers you.
- Gap insurance. If your car is totaled in an accident, the insurance payout may not be enough to cover the outstanding car loan. You won’t be left out of pocket because this coverage will cover the difference.
- Replacement car for a late-model vehicle: This endorsement, similar to gap coverage will allow you to buy a replacement car of the same model if your current vehicle is damaged.
- Ridesharing coverage: This coverage is required if you drive for Uber, or any other ride-sharing company. Regular car insurance doesn’t cover you if you use your car for business purposes.
Questions frequently asked
Which Connecticut car insurance company is best?
There is no best car insurance company. The company offering the lowest rate to your neighbor may not be the best for you. Before you make a decision, we recommend getting multiple quotes from different insurers. Our list of the Best Car Insurance Companies In Connecticut is a good place to begin your search.
Which Connecticut state has the lowest car insurance?
When shopping for car insurance, it is a smart idea to compare prices and get multiple quotes to find the best price and the most comprehensive coverage. To see the current lowest rates, check out our Cheapest Connecticut Car Insurance list.
Does Connecticut have enough car insurance requirements?
Connecticut’s minimums for liability are 25/50/25 and 25/50 respectively. For uninsured or underinsured motorist liability, the minimums are 25/50/25. This amount will cover you for minor accidents, but may not be sufficient if there is serious injury or substantial property damage. We recommend you increase your coverage if you have the funds.