Driving without insurance in Florida

Florida has 15.4 millions licensed drivers. However, another statistic worth noting are the uninsured motorists. Driving without insurance in Florida is more common than anywhere else. According to the Insurance Information Institute III, Florida is the top state with 27% uninsured drivers.

Although it is difficult to determine why this large number of people drive without insurance in Florida, it is illegal. While driving without insurance might save you some money, it could lead to serious headaches and even criminal charges. These problems can be avoided by making sure you have at least the minimum amount of insurance and keeping your coverage.

Florida car insurance laws

Florida’s car-insurance laws are simple. Residents must have no-fault insurance for their cars. To drive legally, residents will need to purchase the following:

  • $10,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP), coverage
  • $10,000 Property Damage Liability (PDL), coverage

These coverages are required before you can register your vehicle in Florida.

The insurance must also be purchased from an authorized agent who is licensed to sell auto insurance in Florida. You must have insurance coverage no matter where you are located as long as your vehicle is registered in Florida. This law does not apply to military personnel. Finally, before you can cancel your insurance policy, you must give up your registration and license plates if you move outside of the state.

No-fault laws are where Florida’s car insurance laws become more complicated. Florida is among the 12 states that are not at fault in the country. This means that regardless of the cause of a crash, driver’s personal injury protection (PIP) will cover any repercussions, such as lost wages and medical payments. Residents in at-fault states must have bodily injury liability coverage. A state with no fault, such as Florida, will require PIP and PDL.

Florida drivers without insurance face severe penalties

Driving without insurance in Florida can have severe consequences. Drivers who don’t have no-fault insurance and their Florida car is registered can have their license suspended and their plates removed for up to 3 years. Drivers can also be re-instated, which is a costly process that can cost up to $500. Florida doesn’t make exceptions for drivers who are disabled or only have a temporary driver’s license.

Drivers may have their license suspended for up three years if they don’t provide proof of their insurance documents when asked by law enforcement officers. This could happen after an accident, a traffic violation or a safety checkpoint. Florida law may require that drivers who have a suspended license obtain an SR-22. This document is legal proof that you meet the minimum state insurance requirements.

In an accident and not having insurance

It is difficult to get into an accident in Florida without insurance. Florida is a no fault state. The other driver’s PIP or PDL should cover them, even if they caused the accident. Uninsured motorist coverage should be available for the other driver. They will also be entitled to reimbursement for lost wages, pain, suffering, and other payments.

Florida is a state that does not allow for fault. However, if you are the victim of an accident and do not have insurance, you can still file a lawsuit against yourself. A lawsuit can be filed if another driver suffers severe or permanent injuries from the accident.

You can face multiple penalties if the accident was your fault. Florida also requires that you obtain an SR-22 form proving you have minimum coverage. The SR-22 form must be completed for three years following reinstatement of your license.

If the accident results in property damage, but no injuries, you need to immediately get $10,000 PIP or $10,000 PDL insurance. Your registration and license plates will be suspended immediately if you don’t purchase this coverage. This fee is in addition to the $150-$500 reinstatement fee that you will need to pay.

You are responsible for the damage to your vehicle if the accident was caused by the other driver. This includes lost wages and medical payments. Depending on the extent of your injuries or damage, this could have serious financial consequences. This complexity can be avoided by having auto insurance.

Questions frequently asked

What is the best Florida car insurance?

The best Florida car insurance depends on your needs, budget, available discount options, and many other factors. It is a good idea to compare different carriers side-by-side to compare rates, customer service ratings, and other important factors.

Bankrate compared several Florida insurance companies. Allstate, Geico, and State Farm were the top-rated Florida insurance companies after analyzing financial stability and customer service ratings.

What is the cost of car insurance in Florida?

There are many options for car insurance premiums, no matter what your budget is or how much coverage you require. The minimum coverage rates in Florida average $1,101 annually, while full coverage averages at $2,364. Florida’s average full coverage is $1,674, which is significantly higher than the national average. Florida ranks second in auto insurance costs, not just because of the danger posed by uninsured drivers but also because of volatile weather.

How can I save money when buying car insurance in Florida

It is a good idea to search for ways of saving on Florida auto insurance premiums. Premiums can vary depending on where you live, your credit score, and the vehicle you drive. However, it is possible to save by comparing multiple providers and taking advantage of all discounts. You can also save money by increasing your deductible to $1,000 or keeping your credit score high for the best quotes.