Driving without insurance in Louisiana

Author:

You should not drive without insurance in Louisiana. You could face penalties and suspension of your licence if you’re stopped by police officers and don’t have proof of insurance. You could be facing serious financial problems if you cause an accident by driving without insurance.

Louisiana requires minimum insurance

Louisiana car insurance laws require a minimum of 15/30/25 liability coverage. This coverage provides you with the following protection when you’re behind the wheel of your vehicle:

  • $15,000 bodily injury coverage to cover costs incurred by one person in another car involved in an accident that you caused.
  • $30,000 total bodily injury coverage to cover multiple victims of an accident that occurred when you are the cause.
  • $25,000 property damage coverage will cover damage to the vehicle of the other driver or objects like light posts and mailboxes.

Driving without insurance in Louisiana carries severe penalties

You could face severe consequences if you don’t have coverage that meets the minimum Louisiana requirements.

Fines

You will first be fined anywhere from $500 to $1,000. If you don’t have proof of insurance, you could face a penalty.

ALSO READ  Guidelines on Selecting a Public Liability Insurance Company

Revocation of driving privileges

You may also be subject to a fine and lose your driving privileges. Your vehicle could be impounded or your license plates cancelled. Your license may be suspended for 180 days if you cause an accident without insurance. If you falsely claim that you have insurance, you could lose your driving privileges from 12-18 months. In order to reinstate your license, you will need to pay fees and storage fees for the vehicle that is impounded.

No pay, no play law

A law called the “No Pay, No Play law” can cause financial problems if you are involved in an accident that was not your fault. Uninsured drivers are not allowed to collect $25,000 in property damage and $15,000 for personal injury damages, regardless of the cause of the accident. Even if the other driver made poor decisions, those costs will have to be paid out of your pocket.

Louisiana’s online insurance verification program charges fees

Louisiana instituted an online insurance verification system in 2016 to handle the problem of uninsured drivers, who make up 11.7% of the state’s drivers. This system allows officers to inspect a driver’s insurance status while they are driving.

ALSO READ  How Much Is Car Insurance For A Dodge Challenger?

In an accident and not having insurance

An accident involving a Louisiana driver without insurance can put you in serious financial trouble. You will be legally responsible for all costs incurred by the other driver if you are found at fault for the accident. This includes any medical expenses or damage to a fixed object. This includes any accident-related expenses.

Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” law will apply to you if you are not at fault. This law prohibits you from applying the auto insurance of the other driver for personal injury costs up to $15,000 and property damage costs up to $25,000 respectively. These costs will be your responsibility before the insurance company pays.

Even if you do not have a lot of money to spare, you can potentially save a great deal by purchasing a minimum coverage policy in Louisiana to avoid paying the fines that come from not having it. You may also be covered up to your policy’s limits if you are involved in an accident. This will help you avoid any financial hardships.

ALSO READ  Average cost of car insurance in Delaware

You could end up in bankruptcy if you are in a serious accident that results in injuries that require surgery, long hospital stays, and extensive rehabilitation. Even though Louisiana car insurance can be expensive, it is much better than the financial options you face if it isn’t.

Questions frequently asked

What happens if you give false information about your insurance?

False insurance information is not a good idea. Your vehicle may be impounded and you could face a fine. If you drive without insurance, you may think you are saving money in the short term, but in the long term, it could cost you hundreds of dollars as well as the use of your car and license.

What is the cost of car insurance in Louisiana

Louisiana’s car insurance rates are high. The average cost of insurance in the state is $975 for minimum coverage and $2,724 for full coverage, which includes collision and comprehensive. However, you may be able pay less by using discounts or shopping around for the best rates.

ALSO READ  Critical Illness Insurance - The Non-Disclosure Problem

Where can I get the best Louisiana car insurance?

The best car insurance company for you may not be the same as the one that’s best for your neighbor. Your premium and policy are affected by many factors, including your credit score and age as well as the type of car and vehicle you drive. It is a good idea to get multiple quotes so you can choose the best one.

What is the penalty for driving in Louisiana without insurance?

There are many penalties. The first is a $500-$1,000 fee if you don’t provide proof of insurance within three days of being stopped. Your license may be revoked and your car may be impounded.

Table of Contents