The Minnesota Department of Public Safety reports that Minnesota had nearly 5 million drivers with Minnesota drivers licenses. In the same year, Minnesota saw more than 80,000 accidents on its roads. This resulted in 364 deaths and 27,000 injuries. Minnesota law requires that automobile owners purchase minimum levels in liability, personal injury protection, and uninsured or underinsured motorist coverages. Driving without insurance could result in serious penalties. This includes time in jail, fines, and suspension of driving privileges.
Minnesota requires minimum insurance
The Minnesota Department of Commerce requires all Minnesota drivers to have certain minimum levels of auto insurance.
- Personal injury protection (PIP: $20,000 for bodily injures and $20,000 to cover non-medical expenses like lost income or services rendered during recovery.
- Bodily injury liability: $30,000 for one person, $60,000 for multiple people.
- Personal property liability: $10,000 for damages to an automobile or other property of another driver.
- Uninsured motorist: $25,000. One person’s injury, $50,000 for multiple people.
- Underinsured motorist: $25,000. One person’s injury, $50,000 for multiple people.
Driving without insurance in Minnesota can result in severe penalties
Minnesota statutes, section 169.797 describes the penalties for driving without insurance in Minnesota. Driving without insurance in Minnesota can be a misdemeanor and could result in a fine of $200- $1,000 or up to 90 days imprisonment. A court may impose additional sentences if you are convicted of another crime, such as driving under the influence. The uninsured vehicle may be a factor in your conviction. You could lose your driving privileges if you are convicted. Any conviction that could make you a high risk driver could result in your insurance rates increasing.
If you are the owner of the vehicle and have insurance
You can submit proof of insurance to court if you do not have proof of insurance. Proof of insurance must be sent by mail prior to your first court appearance. You can also present it at the appearance. The court will not convict if you have sufficient proof of insurance within the time limit.
You do not need the vehicle
You must send proof of insurance to court if you were cited for driving another person’s vehicle. You can also submit the name and address the vehicle’s owners to the court prior or during your first court appearance. The court will inform the appropriate law enforcement agency. They will contact the owner of the vehicle to request proof of insurance. The notice will be sent to the owner. They have 10 days to send proof of insurance to that address. Law enforcement may charge the owner with a misdemeanor if they do not reply. The law enforcement might not charge the owner if the driver uses the vehicle without permission.
Suspending drivers licenses and revoking vehicle registration
The commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety has the power to review your driving record and accident history, and revoke or suspend your driver’s licence without a hearing. The commissioner can suspend your license for as long as 12 months if you are convicted of driving with no insurance. The commissioner can also suspend your license for up to 12 month if you are driving your own vehicle.
Before either of your licenses can be restored, you will need to submit a certificate proving that you are insured at the end of the revocation period. The certificate of insurance can only be submitted by an authorized employee from your insurance carrier and not an agent.
The commissioner will review the certificate and determine if there are any additional requirements to reinstate your registration or license. The commissioner might require that you submit proof of insurance for all of your vehicles. They may also require a noncancelable period of coverage up to one year.
The commissioner can suspend a Minnesota resident’s driver’s licence or revoke a vehicle registration due to an accident, driving without insurance, or any other reason. The commissioner will notify the home state of any non-resident cited for driving in Minnesota without insurance. The commissioner has the power to suspend Minnesota driving privileges for non-residents.
In an accident and not having insurance
Driving without Minnesota insurance can have serious consequences. If you cause an accident that seriously injures or kills another person, law enforcement can charge you with a gross violation. A gross misdemeanor conviction could result in up to one-year imprisonment, a $3,000 fine or both. Remember that Minnesota law allows the court to impose consecutive sentences. If you cause an accident while driving without insurance, you can be charged with both a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor.
Questions frequently asked
What happens if you give false information about your insurance?
If you claim insurance, the Minnesota statutes Section 169.797 penalties apply. These penalties include a suspension of your driver’s licence, a fine and jail time. You may also lose your registration.
What is the cost of car insurance in Minnesota
Quadrant Information Services has quoted Minnesotans an average annual premium for auto insurance. It is $537 to get basic coverage, and $1,643 to get full coverage. Minnesotans pay a slightly lower average car insurance premium than Minnesotans. They pay $565 per year for minimum coverage, and $1,674 per year for full coverage. These average rates are not indicative of the premium that you will pay. Get insurance quotes from multiple providers to get the best estimate.
Is Minnesota a no-fault state?
Yes. Nonresidents and residents of Minnesota must have personal injury protection coverage, if the vehicle is registered or garaged in Minnesota. Nonresidents must have PIP coverage on one vehicle. They also need to purchase coverage for all other vehicles in Minnesota.
Do I need to show proof of insurance in Minnesota when I register a vehicle?
Yes. Yes. Falsely claiming to have insurance can result in a fine or jail sentence, as well as loss of driving privileges and the revocation of your vehicle registration for up 12 months.