North Dakota car insurance is required by law. However, it is strongly recommended for financial protection. There were 14,521 accidents and 100 deaths in North Dakota in 2019.According to the North Dakota Department of Transportation, it is approximately $. An additional estimate of the cost isUninsured drivers account for 13% of state driversUninsured drivers can pose a financial risk to you, and this could lead to a serious financial loss. It is crucial to fully understand the potential risks of driving without insurance in North Dakota.
North Dakota requires minimum insurance
- Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per Person; $50,000 per Accident
- Property damage liability: $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist coverage bodily: $25,000 per individual; $50,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist coverage for property damage: $25,000/accident
- Personal injury coverage: $30,000 per individual
Driving without insurance in North Dakota can result in severe penalties
North Dakota drivers convicted of driving in North Dakota without insurance will be issued a ticket. In the state, this offense is considered a class B misdemeanor. A mandatory $150 fine will be imposed on the first offense if you are convicted. Subsequent offenses may incur higher penalties and fines, or the removal of your license plate and up to 30 days imprisonment.
Whether it is the first offense or a repeat incident, drivers caught driving without insurance are also required to file an SR-22 with the DOT. Additional fees may be charged for court and processing costs. Licenses will be suspended until an SR-22 has been filed. Even if an SR-22 is filed and you get your license back. However, if your insurance provider cancels your policy within one year, the DOT will notify you and your license will be again suspended. This will cause the clock to reset for 1 year, which is the minimum time you have to file an SR-22 in North Dakota.
North Dakota’s online insurance verification program charges fees
North Dakota currently does not have an online system for insurance verification. You must show proof of insurance if you are stopped and asked. In North Dakota, you can show proof of insurance in digital or print form.
In an accident and not having insurance
If you are driving without insurance or in an accident, your license will be suspended and an SR-22 obligation placed. The minimum penalty for a first offense is $150. However, the maximum fine you could be subject to is approximately $1,000.
North Dakota is a no-fault state, which means drivers are responsible for their own medical and repair costs after an accident. Yes, it is still possible to sue, but drivers are only allowed to sue for the amount they were not at fault, based on the state’s modified comparative fault rule. If the other driver is 80% responsible for an accident, you can only sue for 80% for your medical and repair costs. You can only sue if you are 50% each responsible.
Questions frequently asked
What happens if you give false information about your insurance?
False information about your insurance could lead to criminal charges. Driving without insurance is a serious offense in North Dakota. However, there is an entire division dedicated to investigating and dealing with insurance fraud.
Insurance fraud is when you lie to an insurance company. In an effort to lower their premiums or get approved for a policy, drivers may lie to their insurance provider. This can lead to policy cancellation and make it more difficult to obtain a policy with another provider.
What is the cost of North Dakota car insurance?
The average cost of car insurance in North Dakota is $1,264 a year for full coverage. Based on the quoted annual premiums by Quadrant Information Services, North Dakota is $410 less than the U.S. average of $1,674, making it approximately $410 more expensive.
Keep in mind that every driver pays a different amount for car insurance. Your state’s average may be higher or lower than yours. The following factors are considered by insurance companies when calculating premiums:
- Driving record, including speeding tickets and car accidents, as well as DUIs
- Insurance history such as claims history or lapses
- Enter your state and a specific ZIP code
- Marital status
- Type of vehicle
What is an SR-22?
The SR-22 form serves as proof of insurance. It is usually required after a North Dakota driver has been caught driving without insurance. Its sole purpose is to show the North Dakota Department of Transportation you are sufficiently insured.
You will need to inform your insurance company that you want an SR-22 to be sent to NDDOT in order to file an SR-22. You will need insurance if you don’t have any or if your current provider doesn’t offer SR-22s or high-risk drivers. Typically, an SR-22 is filed with a one-time fee.
How can I lower my North Dakota car insurer premium?
It may be more economical to reduce your premium than to pay the North Dakota penalty for driving without insurance. These are ways to lower your rates when renewing or getting a new policy from another insurer.
- Increase your credit score — In North Dakota, insurers can use credit history to price premiums. A low credit score can lead to higher rates. Your premium could drop if you improve your credit score.
- Consider an older vehicle — Because of their replacement value, older cars are typically less expensive to insure. You may be able to drive an older model vehicle depending on your circumstances.
- Your monthly premium will drop if you raise your deductible. In the event of a claims, however, you will be taking on a greater financial risk. Talk to a licensed agent about what may be a good balance for you.
- Compare discounts — While many national providers offer similar discounts to their customers, they do not disclose how much savings you will make. Talk to an agent and get a quote to accurately compare prices between two or more companies.
- Compare prices — Drivers often choose an insurance company based solely on their commercials. There are different premiums for insurance companies. This is for many reasons, but the main takeaway is that drivers should always shop around when choosing the best insurance company. This can help you save hundreds of dollars each year.