Many people are struggling to make ends meet due to the economy. Some drivers may consider driving without car insurance in order to save some money. Are there any penalties for being caught without Pennsylvania car insurance? To find out, we did a deep dive.
Pennsylvania’s car insurance laws
The state law in Pennsylvania requires that all drivers have insurance. Pennsylvania’s minimum insurance requirement is 15/30/5. Your insurance provider must provide coverage up to:
- $15,000 per person to cover bodily injury/death
- $30,000 per accident for bodily Injury/ Death
- Property damage: $5,000 per accident
Pennsylvania also requires that all drivers have medical benefits coverage, which covers a small amount to cover personal injuries. Pennsylvania requires that all drivers have at least $5,000.
Pennsylvania is one of a few states that is completely fault-free. Your insurance will pay for your medical bills and lost wages if you are involved in an accident. It doesn’t matter who caused it.
Pennsylvania is unique because you have the option to opt out of fault-based insurance. When you sign up for insurance, you have the option of suing an at-fault driver for both emotional distress and pain and suffering.
Full tort policies (or at fault policies) are more costly than limited tort policies (or no-fault policies). It doesn’t matter if it sounds strange, there are reasons for limited tort policies. These policies were designed to reduce insurance costs and frivolous lawsuits. However, they limit your options in the event that you are seriously injured in an accident.
Driving without insurance in Pennsylvania can result in severe penalties
There are penalties in Pennsylvania for driving without insurance. These are:
- Minimum $300 penalty
- Your vehicle’s registration will be suspended for three months. After that, a $76 restoration fee will be charged. Vehicle registration suspension means that you cannot drive your car.
- Your driver’s licence will be suspended for three months and you will have to pay a $76 restoration fee.
A $500 civil penalty fee can be used to stop a vehicle registration suspension. This will allow you to drive your car immediately instead of waiting three months. You will still need to pay a PennDOT restoration fee. The restoration fee currently is $76.
In an accident and not having insurance
In Pennsylvania, if you are involved in an accident and you don’t have insurance, you will get a ticket. The judge will likely suspend your driver’s license as well as your vehicle registration and fine you $300 after you appear in court.
If you are found to be at fault, and you are taken to court for it, you will be held responsible for any property damages and injuries that you have caused. This could amount to thousands of dollars. You will lose your assets if you don’t have the money. If you don’t have enough, you will have to liquidate them. This means that if you own a house or another vehicle, they will be sold in compensation for the victim.
Questions frequently asked
Which Pennsylvania insurance policy is best?
It is not as easy as it sounds to choose the best Pennsylvania car insurance company. Because every driver has their own needs and wants, this is why it can be difficult to find the best car insurance in Pennsylvania. There may be specific coverage you need, discounts or a premium that is affordable. This Best Car Insurance Companies In Pennsylvania page will provide a detailed look into the subject.
Is Pennsyvlania home to a large number of uninsured drivers
It doesn’t. Pennsylvania actually ranks ninth in the number of uninsured drivers. According to the Insurance Information Institute’s most recent study, Pennsylvania had a mere 8% rate of uninsured drivers.
Is Pennsylvania home to many licensed drivers?
Pennsylvania is the fifth most populous state in the United States. There are 12,802,503 residents, and 8,942,967 licensed drivers. This means that about 70% of Pennsylvanians drive.