If you own a registered vehicle in Rhode Island, car insurance is legally required. You could be subject to severe penalties, such as heavy fines and restrictions on your driving privileges, if you don’t have auto insurance. Whether you currently live in Rhode Island or are planning a move to the Ocean State, it is important to understand car insurance laws in Rhode Island so you can protect yourself financially and legally.
Minimum required insurance in Rhode Island
Drivers in Rhode Island must carry at least 25/50/25 personal liability insurance, which includes bodily injury liability coverage and property damage coverage. You can be held responsible for bodily injury liability coverage if you cause an accident. Property damage coverage will cover the cost to repair their vehicle up to your policy limits.
Here’s a breakdown of coverage amounts required:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance per person
- $50k bodily injury liability coverage per incident
- $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident
When you purchase a minimum coverage policy in Rhode Island, you will also be offered uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance. You can decline this coverage if you meet the state’s minimum insurance coverage requirements.
Driving without insurance in Rhode Island carries severe penalties
Driving without car insurance in Rhode Island is illegal, and you will face the consequences if you get caught. A fine of $100 to $500 will be assessed for the first offense. The minimum fine for a second or subsequent offense is $500. Your driving privileges will be revoked and you may have to pay a reinstatement fee. In Rhode Island, violations for driving without insurance do not require any jail time or an SR-22 insurance certificate.
Online insurance verification system in Rhode Island: Fees
Rhode Island is just one of many states that use an online verification system for drivers without car insurance.
The Rhode Island Insurance Verification System (RIIVS) is a database of registered vehicles and the vehicle’s insurance policy information. The mail will notify the driver if the VIN of a car does not match the insurance policy number for at least four weeks. Drivers will need to provide current insurance information in order to renew their registration.
Drivers who do not respond within 10 days to the letters could lose their registration. To have your registration restored, you will need to pay $252.50
In an accident and not having insurance
Driving without insurance is dangerous and costly.
You will be responsible for paying the victim for any medical bills and repairs. According to the National Safety Council (NSC), the average cost of an accident with property damage only costs $4,600. The cost of an accident with injury can rise to $23,400. The other driver could also sue you, and this could make you responsible to pay legal fees.
There are consequences to not having insurance, even if another driver hits you. The first is that there is no guarantee the insurance of the other driver will cover all your losses. You could be responsible for paying out-of pocket. You will need to declare that you don’t have insurance when you file a claim. This could lead to you being fined by the state.
Questions frequently asked
What happens if your insurance information is false?
False information about insurance and driving without car insurance are illegal. Fake proof of insurance or policy information can lead to serious legal consequences. This could lead to fines and jail time in Rhode Island. Every state has its own insurance fraud laws. No matter where you drive, you can expect to be fined and have your license suspended. Depending on your driving record or insurance history, the penalties may be even more severe.
What is the cost of car insurance in Rhode Island
The average cost of car insurance in Rhode Island is $749 per year for a minimum coverage policy and $2,018 per year for a full coverage policy. The cost of car insurance in Rhode Island is higher than the average. The average cost for car insurance in the United States is $1674 per annum for full coverage. Rates will be different as insurance premiums depend on many factors such as the vehicle type, the ZIP code where it is kept, and the driving record of the insured.
How do I find cheap Rhode Island car insurance?
There are many options for cheap Rhode Island car insurance. Drivers can save money on their car insurance policy by taking advantage of discounts, choosing a cheap car insurance company, or taking advantage of discounts such as paying their annual premium in full and bundling multiple insurance policies with the same insurance company to name a few.
Which is the best Rhode Island car insurance company?
Rhode Island residents have many options when it comes to car insurance. Each person’s needs will determine which insurance company is best. Based on Bankrate’s study in the state, some of Rhode Island’s best car insurance companies are USAA, Travelers, Geico, and Amica. It is worth shopping around to compare providers and get multiple quotes to find the best rate.