Driving without car insurance in Vermont will cost you. There are many administrative steps that must be taken to correct the situation. In Vermont, there are not only fines for driving without insurance. These are time-consuming and will result in additional costs and financial penalties.
Vermont requires minimum insurance
Vermont law requires that drivers maintain certain levels of auto liability insurance and carry proof of insurance to present to a police officer upon request. Auto liability insurance is a form of car insurance covering the consequences of bodily injury and property damage that you cause to another driver in a car accident.
In Vermont, minimum auto liability insurance coverage is required in the following amounts:
- $25,000 per person for injuries
- $50,000 per accident
- $10,000 for property damage
Driving without insurance in Vermont can result in severe penalties
For a first offense, a Vermont driver can face a $500 fine if they are caught driving without insurance. Driving without insurance is punishable by Vermont law.
- For failure to provide proof of insurance, a $100 fine is imposed. However, insurance must be in force and proved within 20 days.
- If financial responsibility is not met by insurance that meets the minimum liability requirements, a $500 fine can be imposed.
- For a second offense, driving without insurance can result in a $500 fine.
- Vermont drivers caught driving without insurance will have their license suspended unless they acquire SR-22 insurance through an insurance company.
SR-22 insurance is a misnomer as it is not a type of auto insurance. An SR-22 certificate is a document confirming financial responsibility attached to an auto insurance policy. An SR-22 in Vermont will confirm that a driver has the minimum liability coverage required.
Vermont’s online insurance verification program charges fees
Vermont doesn’t have an online system for insurance verification. Drivers must show proof of insurance every time they drive to avoid being issued a ticket.
In an accident and not having insurance
If a Vermont driver is charged with a traffic violation, involved in an accident, or has no auto insurance, things get complicated and expensive. While the above-mentioned fines will be imposed, your license will likely be suspended by a court following an accident until you can get an SR-22. It is impossible to predict the consequences of additional conditions, such as fines, that a court might impose.
An injured driver could sue you for damages if they are not insured. This is a much more expensive way to be involved in an accident. In Vermont, an “at-fault” comparative negligence state, if you were more at fault in the accident than the other driver, you can be held personally liable for some of the bodily injury and property damage caused to the other driver and, potentially, their passengers. These financial consequences can have a severe impact on your life and could even lead to you losing your job.
It is highly likely that a driver facing all of these consequences will also pay higher insurance premiums in Vermont, resulting from both the underlying traffic offense and driving while uninsured.
To protect your finances from the above, it is a smart idea to purchase car insurance. Comprehensive and collision car insurance will provide greater financial protection in the event of a car accident. However, you should still consider buying the minimum required car insurance by the state. Talk to an insurance agent licensed to help you determine the right amount and type of car insurance for your needs.
Questions frequently asked
What happens if your insurance information is false?
Driving without insurance is a very serious offense. It can be even worse if you provide false information to an officer, an insurance commissioner, or the court. You could face a suspension of your license and severe fines. False information can lead to similar serious consequences. False information can cause your insurer to cancel your policy or refuse to pay for a claim that would otherwise have been covered.
What is the cost of car insurance in Vermont
The average annual cost of full coverage car insurance in Vermont is $1,207, which compares favorably with other states and is one of the ten least expensive states for full coverage. $1,674 is the national average annual cost for full coverage insurance. Rates will vary depending on the driver’s driving record, location and vehicle type. It usually pays to obtain several quotes from several reputable car insurers and compare rates.
Is driving without insurance a misdemeanor?
Driving without insurance for your car is still a misdemeanor in Vermont. Don’t let this mislead you. An infraction can result in severe penalties, including suspension of your license. Uninsured motorists can face severe financial penalties if they are found to have been involved in a DUI or accident.
Do I need to inform my car insurance company of minor accidents?
It’s a good idea to inform your insurance company about any accident that you are involved in. Even if the accident is minor, you want to make arrangements directly with the other driver. If the other driver sustains serious injuries, this precaution could save you money. Your insurer may deny coverage if you fail to notify them promptly.
Table of Contents