Driving without insurance in Wisconsin is a serious offense. Driving without insurance in Wisconsin is a criminal offense. However, car insurance can provide financial protection. The penalties for driving without insurance in Wisconsin depend on whether you were convicted of any prior offenses and whether you were involved in an accident. Despite the law and consequences, roughly 13% of drivers in Wisconsin are estimated to be uninsured. You might be able to choose the right car insurance coverage for you by knowing what the minimum state car insurance limits are and what penalties can be imposed for driving without insurance.
Wisconsin requires minimum insurance
Wisconsin car insurance laws mandate that vehicle owners carry at least minimum amounts of certain car insurance coverages to drive legally. The minimum required car insurance coverage in Wisconsin is:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50k bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 for property damage to others
- $25,000 bodily injury to a motorist who is not covered by insurance
- $50,000 bodily injury to an uninsured motorist per accident
While the minimum coverage is all that is required to register your car and drive legally, most agents recommend you buy higher limits. You will be responsible for any injuries or damages that exceed your insurance limits if you are involved in an accident. Higher limits will provide greater financial protection. Additionally, most financial institutions will require you to have full coverage insurance, which adds comprehensive and collision coverages, if you have a loan or lease on your vehicle.
Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage is designed to pay for your injuries and injuries for your passengers if you are hit by an uninsured driver. If you are involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist, it is possible to increase the coverage limits.
Driving without insurance in Wisconsin carries a stiff penalty
Wisconsin law requires that drivers and owners of motor vehicles provide proof of insurance in the event of an accident or when they are stopped by law enforcement. Although it is convenient to have an electronic copy of your insurance card on your smartphone, you might still need to keep a copy in your car. If you cannot provide proof of insurance at the scene, you could be fined up to $10.
Wisconsin is very strict about driving without insurance. You could face a $500 fine if you are found without vehicle coverage during a traffic stop, or in an accident. In addition, you may be required to file an SR-22 form as proof of insurance after getting a ticket for no insurance or being involved in an accident. SR-22s are certificates issued by your auto insurance company stating that you are properly covered to drive in the state.
In an accident and not having insurance
An accident without insurance can lead to financial ruin. You are responsible for any injuries and damages you cause if you are not covered by insurance. You could be sued if you cannot pay. You can save money and time by purchasing car insurance.
Wisconsin’s Safety Responsibility (SR) Law addresses such issues. Wisconsin motorists without insurance can report to the DMV. They will be immediately suspended from their driver’s licence unless they comply with one of these conditions:
- They can show proof that they had insurance at the time of an accident.
- They agree to a monthly payment plan for the cost associated with the claims.
- They must pay a security deposit to cover the costs of any injuries or damages.
- They are a liability release that shows the claim has been settled.
- They ask for a hearing to clarify why they feel they are not at fault.
Questions frequently asked
What happens if you give false information about your insurance?
If you are caught driving without insurance, falsely stating you have coverage or providing fraudulent information will very likely make matters worse. False information about your car insurance can lead to a $5,000 fine.
What is the cost of car insurance in Wisconsin
The average cost of car insurance in Wisconsin is $1,186 per year for full coverage, which is quite a bit lower than the national average of $1,674 annually for full coverage. There are numerous car insurance companies operating in Wisconsin. You might find a lower rate by getting quotes from multiple companies for the same coverage.
What is the difference in minimum and full auto insurance?
Minimum coverage is the minimum coverage required by a state. This coverage usually includes bodily injury or property damage liability coverages. However, it can also include uninsured driver coverage, personal injury protection (PIP), and other coverages depending on the state. Full coverage is when you add both collision and comprehensive coverages to your policy. This provides coverage for your car’s damage. Full coverage is not an industry standard term. What constitutes full coverage will vary from one company to the next. Full coverage may be defined by insurance agencies and companies as having greater liability limits, comprehensive, collision, and other optional coverages such as roadside assistance or car rental coverage.
Is Wisconsin an insurance state that does not require you to have car insurance?
Wisconsin is not a no-fault state. Wisconsin is an at fault state. Also known as a tort state, it is. You are responsible for any injuries and damages you cause by causing a Wisconsin car accident. A car insurance policy can ease the financial strain and help you avoid financial disaster.