It can be difficult to maintain a car insurance policy in Arizona, or obtain new coverage after a DUI conviction. A DUI in Arizona doubles the driver’s average premium, which is the same percentage as the national average premium.
Arizona DUI laws
If you are 21 years old or older and have a BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration), above.08%, you can be convicted in Arizona of DUI. A BAC above.04% is grounds for conviction for commercial vehicle drivers. Drivers under 21 years old are subject to zero tolerance. Any BAC above 0.00% will lead to a conviction.
A driver could also be convicted for DUI if the person is ” impaired to the slightest extent” by illegal or alcohol drugs. The field sobriety testing can also be used to support this conviction. A driver who is suspected of driving while intoxicated will be administered a chemical test on the spot. Refusal to take the test could result in a driver’s license being suspended.
With each subsequent DUI conviction, Arizona’s penalties increase. A minimum $250 fine is assessed for a first offense. The driver will also be sentenced to between 24 hours and 10 days in jail. A $500 fine will be imposed on the driver for a second offense. The minimum sentence is 30 days imprisonment, with a maximum of 90 days. A base fine of $500 will be assessed for a third or subsequent DUI conviction. The minimum sentence is 4 months imprisonment.
What does a DUI mean for your Arizona car insurance?
The average Arizona car insurance premiums are slightly lower than the national average. The average Arizona premium will increase by twofold if a DUI conviction is on the driver’s record. The national averages also show this significant increase.
Insurance companies consider drivers who have had one or more DUI convictions to high-risk drivers. These drivers are more likely to get involved in an accident or engage in risky driving behaviors again, according to the companies. Rates have been raised to reflect these risks.
A DUI conviction can have financial penalties. Additionally, certain states require minimum coverage. An SR-22 form must be filed in Arizona to prove that a DUI driver is covered. The SR-22 is signed by the driver’s carrier to confirm that they have adequate coverage. The SR-22 must be in effect for at least three years after the date the driver is eligible to receive a reinstatement of their license.
After a DUI, Arizona: Finding car insurance
Drivers who are convicted of a DUI can expect a different response from car insurance companies. Some carriers will increase premiums, often by large amounts, while maintaining policies. Other carriers will cancel policies at each renewal. These policies cannot be cancelled immediately in most states. Many car insurance companies are known for helping high-risk drivers, even those convicted of DUI.
It is crucial to review all actions that need to be taken after a DUI conviction in Arizona. Talk to your carrier about all options for maintaining insurance coverage. You may be eligible for discounts that will offset the inevitable rise in premiums. You may need to consider other carriers that offer high-risk coverage.
Questions frequently asked
What will a DUI in Arizona do to my criminal record?
A DUI conviction in Arizona will stay on your criminal record for life. While this blemish will be less noticeable to people who are looking at your history, it will not disappear. If the case was dismissed without a conviction, there are ways to expunge or remove a DUI arrest from your record.