Your auto insurance premiums could rise by up to 99% each year due to Louisiana’s ADUI. This is in line with the average annual percentage growth. You may have difficulty getting auto insurance after a DUI conviction in Louisiana.
Louisiana law requires that you have auto insurance. It is therefore important to know how to get coverage, even if your driving record contains a DUI. It may be helpful to find out which carriers have the lowest average rates when you’re looking for coverage. Bankrate reviewed average premium data from Quadrant Information Service to understand the impact of a DUI/DWI on insurance rates.
Louisiana DUI laws
Louisiana considers anyone with a blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 to be under the influence.
A Louisiana DUI conviction can lead to severe consequences. You could face a $300-$1,000 fine for your first offense. You may also face a 10-day to six-month jail sentence. You could also have your license suspended or you could be required to take part in a substance abuse program. This could be in addition to community service that may be ordered by the court.
In addition to the possible fines and license suspension length, jail time may be added for subsequent DUI convictions. Your specific punishments for DUI will vary depending on your case. DUIs are serious offenses which resulted in 252 deaths across Louisiana in 2019.
What a DUI means for your Louisiana car insurance
A DUI in Louisiana can significantly increase your auto insurance premium. This is on top of Louisiana’s high cost of car insurance. Louisiana’s average full coverage premium is $2,724, even if there are no DUI convictions. The rate rises by 99% to $5,425 per year for a DUI. This is consistent with the national average annual rise of 99% following a DUI. However, the national average full coverage premium is much lower.
You may not be able to get insurance if you have a DUI. Insurance companies will consider a DUI or DWI a high-risk driver . There are many carriers who won’t take that risk.
After a DUI in Louisiana, you can find car insurance
It may prove helpful to compare several carriers if you’re looking for car coverage after getting a DUI in Louisiana. This will allow you to compare the quotes of different companies and help you determine which one is most affordable.
Quadrant Information Services was used by Bankrate to get current premium information from the largest Louisiana insurance companies. Below is a list of the average annual premiums for DUI victims. These premiums can vary greatly, which shows how useful it is to get quotes from multiple companies.
These premiums are an average. These premiums may vary depending on how high or low you pay. Auto insurance premiums are determined by many factors including your age, vehicle type, coverage options, and any other incidents.
Questions frequently asked
What will a DUI in Louisiana do to my criminal record?
Driving under the influence in Louisiana is a crime. You will likely be subject to fines and a suspension of your license. Other penalties may include mandatory community service, a program for substance abuse, or jail time.
Is there a better car insurance company for a DUI in Louisiana than the one listed here?
Because everyone is different, the best car insurer will differ from one driver to another. Start your search for high-risk drivers by looking at carriers that offer coverage. To determine the best fit for you, request quotes and compare coverage options, rates and customer satisfaction ratings.
What happens if I don’t have insurance in Louisiana?
It is illegal to drive without insurance in Louisiana. You could face suspension of your license and fines if you are caught driving with no insurance. You will be responsible for any injuries and damages you cause to others if you are involved in an accident. To reinstate your license, you’ll likely need to buy auto insurance if it has been suspended due to a DUI. An SR-22 form will be required to be on file with Louisiana’s Office of Motor Vehicles. This form is filed by your insurance company to verify that you have the necessary insurance coverage. You will not likely be able to restore your license if you don’t have an insurance company file this form.