Driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs can have serious consequences in Maine. One of these is a high insurance premium. A DUI conviction in Maine will result in an average 92% increase in car insurance rates. This is slightly less than the 99% increase for the United States.
There were 137 traffic-related deaths in Maine in 2018, 49 of which were alcohol-related. This means that alcohol was responsible for 36% of all traffic fatalities. You might be able to make better decisions about your coverage by understanding Maine’s DUI laws.
Maine DUI laws
Driving with a blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08 or higher is considered driving under the influence in Maine. You will likely face penalties depending on your specific offense.
Your license could be suspended for one year after a Maine DUI. You could be required to have a conditional license for ten years for any subsequent offenses.
A fine will likely be assessed if you are convicted of a DWI offense in Maine. The fine for a first offense is $500. For each subsequent DUI conviction, the fine goes up to $500. The maximum fine for a DUI conviction is $2,500. A Maine DUI conviction can lead to jail time. However, the length of your sentence will depend on how many offenses you have committed as well as whether you consented for a breathalyzer test.
Certain aggravating factors can affect your DUI penalties. These factors include a BAC greater than 0.15, driving at least 30 mph faster than the speed limit, and having a passenger younger than 21 years old in your vehicle.
What a DUI does to your Maine car insurance
A high car insurance premium is one of the greatest costs that comes with a DUI. Your car insurance premium will increase by 92% if you are convicted of DUI in Maine. This is less than the national average rate hike of 99%.
Below is the table showing the average annual increase in full coverage rates after a DUI in Maine compared to the national average.
Insurance companies will likely consider you high-risk if you have a DUI in Maine. In order to offset the increased risk, providers increase your premiums. Sometimes, it is possible for insurance companies to decline to write you a policy.
In order to get your license reinstated after a DUI conviction, you may need to file an SR-22. An SR-22 form is a document that your insurance company files with the Maine BMV in order to show that you have maintained the required level of car insurance coverage.
After a DUI, you can find car insurance in Maine
Although it is possible to get affordable car insurance, you may need to have a DUI. High-risk drivers are not covered by all companies. Even if you have a DUI conviction, your premium may be affected.
Quadrant Information Services provided premium information for several major insurance companies in Maine. Bankrate obtained this information from Quadrant Information Services. Here are the average premiums for full coverage per year of these companies after a DUI.
It is possible to get multiple quotes and compare car insurance providers in Maine after you have been convicted of a DUI. You may find it difficult to find an insurance provider that will insure your car.
Questions frequently asked
What will a DUI in Maine do to my criminal record?
Driving under the influence in Maine is illegal, just like in other states. This will be recorded on your criminal record. Your license will be suspended, you could face jail and other penalties.
What can I do to get car insurance at a lower rate after getting a DUI in Maine?
Although it may seem more difficult to find affordable insurance after a DUI, there are still ways to lower your premium. Comparing quotes from different providers may help you to find the best rate for what you need. It is worth looking into insurance companies that offer multiple discounts. Insurance companies often offer discounts to lower your rates if you pay your annual premium completely, bundle your auto and home insurance policies, or opt for paperless statements.
What is the cost of car insurance in Maine?
The average cost for car insurance in Maine for minimum coverage is $294 per year and full coverage is $965 per annum. Maine has the lowest car insurance rates. You will pay a higher rate if you have a DUI conviction or any other traffic violations. Maine drivers pay $1,855 annually for full coverage following a DUI.