Your average Mississippi auto insurance premium could increase by $926 per year due to ADUI. Although this has a significant effect on premiums it is still less than the $1,662 national average increase. You can expect to see your premiums rise if you are convicted of DUI. However, you might find it more difficult to get insurance coverage. A DUI in Mississippi, or anywhere else, can indicate to an insurance carrier that you are a high risk driver. Many will not take the additional risk.
Bankrate compared rates from Quadrant Information Services in order to determine what the average premiums that a Mississippi DUI conviction would cost. This information may be helpful if you’re looking for the best rates and coverage options within your budget following a DUI conviction.
Mississippi DUI laws
Mississippi law prohibits anyone driving while under the influence. A drunk driver can face serious legal consequences if they are caught. Drivers are considered drunk if their blood alcohol content (BAC), is 0.08% or more.
These are the penalties in Mississippi for drunk driving:
- For first-time offenders, you could spend up to 48 hours in jail. You could spend up to one year in prison if it’s your second offense. A third offense entails a minimum of one-year imprisonment with a maximum sentence up to five years.
- A $250-$1,000 fine and court costs are the penalties for a first offense. A second offense can result in a $600-$1,500 fine and court costs. A third offense is punishable by a $2,000-$5,000 fine plus court costs.
- All convictions require attendance to a court-approved alcohol education course.
- For the first offense, your license will be suspended for 30 days. This increases to 45 days for subsequent offenses.
- A vehicle ignition interlock can be fitted to your vehicle for as long as six months after the initial DUI conviction. It can also be installed for two years for the second offense and up to three years for subsequent DUI convictions.
What a DUI can do to your Mississippi car insurance
Your auto insurance premiums are likely to rise if you are convicted in Mississippi of DUI. While rates for Mississippi are $1,782 per annum without a DUI conviction, the rates rise dramatically to $2,708 per annum after a DUI. Even more dramatic is the increase in national average rates. The pre-DUI average was $1,674 and the post-DUI average was $3,336. This is almost twice the amount.
It is possible to get coverage from an insurance company if you are convicted of a DUI in Mississippi. You may also find that your current insurance carrier will deny you coverage if you renew your policy. It is possible to get new or renewed auto insurance in Mississippi if you have a DUI.
After a DUI, you can find car insurance in Mississippi
It is possible to find car insurance for someone who has been convicted of DUI. However, it is also possible to find affordable carriers that offer post-DUI premiums. Look for high-risk drivers to be insured by carriers. Next, compare several carriers to determine the best rates as well as coverage options.
Bankrate compared rates from Progressive, USAA State Farm, Geico, Geico, and Allstate for drivers with DUI records to give you an idea of what to expect. The table below shows the average annual premiums of these companies for drivers with a DUI record. Your rates will vary depending on your individual factors.
Questions frequently asked
What will a DUI in Mississippi do to my criminal record?
Every case is unique, but a Mississippi DUI that leads to a criminal conviction will remain on your criminal record until you petition the court for it to be expunged. The good news? A DUI conviction will not remain on your driving record beyond five years.
What amount of car insurance do you need?
It is a good idea, aside from the Mississippi minimum liability requirements, to have more comprehensive coverage to ensure that you are financially protected in the event of a claim. Lenders will require that you purchase optional collision and comprehensive coverage if you lease your vehicle. This is because the vehicle is still their property to protect. Talk to a licensed agent about the right amount of car insurance for you.