Your driving history is one of the most crucial factors taken into account by car insurance companies when you purchase a policy. A poor driving record can lead to higher annual car insurance premiums than the average. Drivers with a DUI conviction can lead to higher premiums in the future. After a DUI conviction, Oregon’s average cost for full coverage car insurance is $2,301. This is 71% more than the $1,346 state average.
In 2018 alone, there were 153 alcohol-impaired driving fatalities in Oregon and the number has been on an incline. Oregon residents who have been in a DUI are advised to know the laws and penalties. Also, be aware of the cost for insurance if your driving record has changed.
Oregon DUI laws
Driving under the influence of intoxicants (DUII) can be classified as a Class A misdemeanor or felony in Oregon and could come with significant penalties for those convicted. A motorist who is found driving under the influence of alcohol or other controlled substances could face jail time, fines, and suspension of their license.
The sentence for the first offense can range from 48 hours to one year. It may also be reduced by 80 hours of community service. Similar fines can be $1,000 or $2,000 if BAC exceeds 0.15%. However, they may rise up to $10,000 if a passenger is under 18 years old. A license suspension and ignition interlock device requirements may be required for up to one year. The penalties for second DUI offenses in Oregon are similar, but fines can start at $1500 and could include up to three years license suspension and ignition interlock.
The third and repeat offenses may be classified as Class C felony and bring up to five years in prison, up to $125,000 in fines (if convicted) and a permanent license suspension.
What a DUI can do to your Oregon car insurance
DUII in Oregon (or DUI) can be a serious blow to your driving record. It will usually stay there for 10 years. Insurance companies consider a DUI on driving record high-risk behavior due to the increased chance of an accident. As the insurer attempts to reduce the risk, this often results in a higher annual premium. Drivers may be denied coverage by other insurance companies, and their current insurer might refuse to renew their policy.
The national average cost of full coverage car insurance is $1,674 per year and after a DUI, it goes up to $3,129 per year on average, which is an 87% increase. Although Oregon’s average cost for full coverage is $1,346 per year, it increases to $2,301 annually after a DUII. If your license was suspended, you may need your insurance company to file an SR-22 form for you. You should be aware that not all car insurance providers file SR-22 forms. To make this possible, it may be necessary to contact a different provider.
After a DUI, you can find car insurance in Oregon
It is not impossible to find car insurance after a DUI conviction. Finding affordable coverage is the problem. In Oregon, the most competitive rates after a DUI may be offered by State Farm at around $1,248 per year on average for full coverage. Progressive follows at an average $1,528 per annual. American Family offers full coverage for high risk in Oregon for $2,001 if you’re willing to pay more. Oregon residents can also get high-risk coverage through Country Financial, at an average cost of $1.965 per year. USAA could be an excellent mid-year choice for military families at $1,667 annually on average.
A DUI conviction could lead to higher car insurance rates, even though it is still on your driving record. The points may drop gradually over time, however. While most insurers offer discounts to qualified customers, it is best to maintain a clean driving record for at least two to three years in order to get as many discounts as you can. Safe driving habits are the first step to lowering your insurance risk.
Questions frequently asked
What will a DUI in Oregon do to my criminal record?
A DUII in Oregon remains on a person’s criminal record permanently. It can also have a negative impact on other areas of one’s life, beyond car insurance. A criminal record with a DUI conviction could be a factor in determining personal eligibility. This is especially true if it is mandatory.
What is the difference between DUI/DWI?
DUI is driving under the influences. DWI is driving while impaired or intoxicated. Both DUI and DWI essentially mean the same thing and may be used interchangeably in different states, although the penalties for each may differ.
What is an SR-22?
Drivers who lose their driver’s licenses due to a DUI may be required by their insurance company to submit an SR-22 form to DMV to reinstate their license. The SR-22 form proves that you have the financial and insurance coverage necessary to be able to drive legally again. Some insurance companies do not file an SR-22 form. The DMV can reject your application if you fail to meet all requirements.