Finding car insurance in South Carolina after a DUI

A DUI in South Carolina could cause your auto insurance premiums increase by an average $1,054 per calendar year. Although this is quite a large increase, it is still significantly less than the $1,662 national average annual increase. Car insurance can become more difficult to find if you have a DUI. Some insurance companies won’t offer coverage to drivers who have a DUI on their record. It’s easy to see why: Every year, more than 10,000 people are killed by drunk driving.

Auto insurance is required in South Carolina. This can help people who have been convicted for a DUI/DWI to learn how to get affordable coverage. Quadrant Information Services provided average premium information for South Carolina drivers convicted of DUI. This information could help you understand what you can expect from your insurance policy after a DUI conviction and help you to find a cheaper policy.

South Carolina DUI laws

A DUI conviction in South Carolina can result in serious consequences even if this is your first. You can get a $400 fine and a 30 day sentence for your first DUI. You can also have your driver’s licence suspended for up to six months.

A second DUI can result in a fine of $2,100-$5,100 and a jail sentence that ranges from five days up to one year. Your license may be suspended for as long as one year. A third DUI could result in a $6,300 fine and up to three years imprisonment. Your license may also be suspended for two years. If the third offense is within five years of your initial DUI, the penalties can be more severe.

A fourth DUI can result in five years’ potential jail time, as well as permanent loss of your driver’s license. Your DUI offense may result in harsher penalties depending on how serious your case is.

What a DUI can do to your South Carolina car insurance

A DUI can increase your auto insurance in South Carolina by on average 70%. Although this seems steep, it’s still a significant decrease from the national average increase which is 99%. Insurance is determined by risk. If you are convicted of DUI, insurance companies will consider you a high risk driver. The premiums you pay will be higher to compensate for your increased risk.

The cost to get a DUI can be high due to the increased insurance costs.

If you are convicted in South Carolina of DUI or DWI, some insurance companies might deny you coverage. There are still car insurance companies that will work with high-risk drivers.

After a DUI, South Carolina: Finding car insurance

It may prove helpful to compare quotes from several companies if you’re looking for auto coverage in South Carolina following a DUI. You can then compare premiums and find the best option for you.

Below is a list of top auto insurance companies that offer affordable insurance for DUI victims in South Carolina. There will be a wide range of quotes for customers, and each company may have a different premium.

Many insurance companies offer discounts that could lower your insurance costs. You may be able to find discounts available that can help you choose a company.

Questions frequently asked

What will a DUI in South Carolina do to my criminal record?

A DUI conviction can have severe consequences for your criminal record, depending on the circumstances. A DUI conviction will usually be added to your criminal record. You may also have to spend time in jail. You may be facing even more serious charges if you are convicted of driving under the influence and cause death or serious injury to another person.

If I have a DUI, which is the best company for car insurance?

Because everyone is different, the best auto insurance company will vary from one driver to another. It can be helpful to look for companies that specialize in high-risk drivers if you are convicted of DUI. It is possible to find the right company by understanding your requirements and getting quotes from multiple carriers.

What effect does a DUI have on my insurance premiums for how long?

Each company is unique, but most companies charge DUIs for up to three to five years after the date of conviction. During this period, your premiums will likely remain higher than the average. Your premiums could drop once your DUI is overrated by your company.

What amount of car insurance do you need?

The amount of insurance you buy depends on many factors including your budget, risk tolerance, and vehicle value. You will need to have full coverage if you have a loan, lease or other financial obligation. An agent can help you determine the right amount of coverage.