It can be difficult to find affordable car insurance after a DWI. South Dakota’s average car insurance premium goes up by 65% after a DWI. This is significantly higher than the premiums paid before the DUI conviction. The cost of a DUI in South Dakota includes car insurance. Other penalties, such as fines and legal fees, could also be possible. To avoid lasting consequences, all South Dakota DUI laws should be known.
South Dakota DUI laws
DUI and DWI may be interchangeable as they both refer to driving under the influence or while intoxicated. South Dakota uses DWI.
NHTSA data shows that 38% were related to alcohol0_. To reduce the chance of serious injury or death, South Dakota has strict regulations. South Dakota could charge you with DWI if your blood alcohol content is greater than.08 percent by weight. Driving while under the influence or drugs, marijuana, or controlled substances is an offense that can make it difficult to drive safely.
South Dakota DWI penalties can range from $450 up to $2,000 in fines and 30-days to one-year imprisonment depending on the severity. Your driver’s license could be suspended for at least 30 days. This could impact your car insurance.
What a DUI can do to your South Dakota car insurance
According to car insurance companies, a DUI/DWI is one of the most serious criminal charges that you can face on your driving record. Driving while impaired can result in fatalities, serious injuries and expensive damages. If you are convicted in South Dakota of driving under the influence, your insurance company may deny coverage, cancel it, or refuse to renew it.
Insurance companies will consider DUI high risk behavior to be a reason for an increase in car insurance premiums. Worse, your car insurance premiums will continue to rise after a DUI conviction. Your car insurance premiums are likely to remain higher than the average as long as you have a DUI conviction on your driving record. Here’s a comparison of how South Dakota premiums might rise compared to the national average.
After a DUI in South Dakota, you can find car insurance
DUI convictions can affect your car insurance coverage and increase your premiums. It is possible to find a cheaper alternative by looking for car insurance quotes or switching carriers. Not all insurance companies are ” -friendly.”
Bankrate compared the average premiums for DWI convictions from South Dakota insurance companies to give you an idea of what you can expect. Progressive is closely followed by USAA as the cheapest car insurance provider after a DUI.
If you are not able to afford the insurance quotes that you get after a DWI, South Dakota offers an Automobile Insurance Plan (AIPSO). This is for drivers who can’t find affordable insurance.
Questions frequently asked
What will a DUI in South Dakota do to my criminal record?
You should not take a DWI charge in South Dakota lightly. A first DUI charge could be a misdemeanor unless there are aggravating circumstances such as refusing to submit to a blood alcohol test or driving with minors. The shortest sentence is usually given to first-time offenders. Drivers who are convicted of more than one DUI could be facing felony charges. A felony conviction could impact your ability to vote and your ability to travel. It may also affect your job prospects.
What is the maximum penalty for DWI in South Dakota
South Dakota DWI penalties range from $450 up to $2,000. Driving under the influence can result in additional costs. You may have to pay to reinstate your license. Taxis may be required during this time. You may also need to pay for lawyer’s fees, court costs and vehicle impound fees.