Driving while under the influence can lead to serious consequences including death and injury. Car insurance rates will rise due to the potential consequences of driving under the influence. After a DUI offense, the cost of car insurance premiums can rise to $2,805 – a 110 percent increase from the average of $13,338.
A total of 26 percent of traffic deaths in 2019 were due to alcohol-impaired driving. This killed 290 people. Insurance companies are suspicious of anyone with a DUI conviction. This is because drunk driving causes a lot of deaths. Tennessee law requires car insurance. However, it can be difficult to find coverage that is adequate without raising your rates.
Tennessee DUI laws
Tennessee, like many other states has its own laws and penalities for intoxicated driving.
First-time DUI offenders who have a blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent or more can face up to 48 hours imprisonment and $1,500 in fines. They may also be required to participate in alcohol or drug treatment programs. License suspensions for up to one year are possible. In addition, they may be subject to compensation for any victim of reckless driving. Fines for second and third DUI offenses can reach $10,000. License revocations can last up to eight years, and the vehicle could be seized.
A fatal crash under the influence can be a class B felony. This can lead to license revocation of up to ten year and no restricted license. Minor DUI offenses are not usually punished with jail time. However, the license can be suspended until the minor reaches 18 years old and could be reinstated at court’s option.
The fourth and subsequent DUI offenses are a Class E felony. This includes jail time, fines, vehicle seizure, and possible permanent license revocation. Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol analysis can lead to license suspension for up to two years and possibly 12 years in jail if the passenger was under 18.
What a DUI can do to your Tennessee car insurance
Driving while intoxicated or impaired is a serious crime that can severely impact your ability to obtain affordable car insurance. Insurance providers consider your driving record as one of the most important aspects in determining your eligibility and how much you have to pay for your annual premium. Any history that is not perfect is a red flag and can make you a high-risk driver. Insurance providers will assume that you are more likely than someone who has a clean driving record to get into a traffic accident.
The average cost for full coverage car insurance in is $1,674, but a DUI conviction can make it up to $3,336. Drivers with a DUI in Tennessee pay $2,805 on average for full coverage. However, rates can vary widely between insurance companies. Some providers will refuse to renew or deny coverage due to the high price.
After a DUI, you can find car insurance in Tennessee
Although it is possible to get car insurance coverage following a DUI conviction, it may not be as cost-effective as previously. Progressive has the lowest average rate after a DUI conviction in Tennessee, at $2,067 per year for full coverage. Erie Insurance charges $2,152 annually for similar policies. USAA’s high-risk driver policies cost $2,126 per year. State Farm and Travelers have higher rates at $2,481 and 2,906, respectively. However, prices can be reduced by taking defensive driving courses or enrolling in safe driver programs.
Many insurance companies will reject your application to a policy depending on how many DUI convictions you have. Your current provider may also decide not to renew your policy after the term ends. You may need to look for an insurer that offers coverage for high risk drivers. However, this may mean you have to give up other options and accept the minimum.
Seek out multiple quotes to determine what options are available to you.
Questions frequently asked
What will a DUI/DWI in Tennessee do to my criminal record?
A DUI conviction in Tennessee can affect your car insurance rates. If you change providers or obtain a new policy, your eligibility will be determined based on the DUI. A DUI can remain on your record in some states for up to 11 years. If there are no repeat offenses, it could lose its significance.
What is the maximum length of my license suspension after a DUI conviction in Tennessee?
A license revocation for the first or second offense usually lasts one to two years. Your license may be suspended for up to ten year or you could be banned from driving permanently.
What can I do to lower my car insurance after getting a DUI?
After a DUI, you will see an increase in your car insurance costs. However, you can reduce the cost of your car insurance by developing safe driving habits and taking advantage the discounts that are available to high-quality drivers.