Utah’s liquor laws have stricter regulations than those in the rest of the nation. Retail outlets are now allowed to sell alcohol upto 5% in volume. This is an increase from the previous limit which was 4%. Utah residents will need to go to a state-run liquor shop for harder liquors and spirits. 27% road deaths in Utah can be attributed to drunk driving, despite the alcohol restrictions. The state’s legal blood-alcohol limit was lowered from these rules in order to avoid a severe Utah DUI penalty. Utah drivers may be interested in avoiding the high DWI penalty and paying higher insurance premiums. After a DUI in Utah, you may notice a 95% increase in your car insurance (nearly twice)
Utah DUI laws
The DWI Utah and DUI Utah charges are identical and can be used interchangeably by most residents of the state. DWI is driving while intoxicated. DUI is driving while impaired. In its official communications, the state uses the term DUI. This can be helpful for both drivers and passengers to know the DUI rules of Utah. They are quite strict.
If you are “under influence” of alcohol, drugs or both, you can be charged with Utah DUI. Driving under the influence is defined as a blood alcohol level above.05%. Drivers younger than 21 years old cannot consume alcohol. Utah has a zero tolerance, “not a drop” policy for drivers under 21 years old.
Officers can also fine someone for DUI, even if they’re not driving at the time. This is something that many people don’t realize. Utah DUI laws stipulate that a person with a BAC above the limit cannot have ” actual control” over a vehicle. Utah motorists can also be charged with DUI if they are found to be under the influence of alcohol or a substance while driving, asleep behind the wheel, or touching any controls on the vehicle.
Utah’s DUI penalties are high. Utah DUI penalties can be as high as $1,310. A driver’s vehicle will be impounded, and the driver will have to pay for its release. If the driver is found guilty, an ignition lock restriction device can be placed on the vehicle. Drivers may need to attend hearings. They can hire a lawyer to help them. Driver’s licenses can be suspended for up four months. Alternative arrangements may be made.
Utah drivers will see their car insurance premiums go up in general. Drivers could spend up to two days in jail or as much as five years in prison depending on the severity and nature of the charges.
What a DUI can do to your Utah car insurance
After a policyholder’s DUI record, car insurance companies will raise their premiums. Insurance companies find DUIs to be costly because they have to pay the insurance company for all costs, including court fees, settlements, and property damage.
A DUI-convicted driver could pose a greater risk of causing an accident that results in death and may be more costly to insure. Insurance premiums may rise to compensate for the increased risk. A DUI-convicted driver could be denied standard coverage or dropped from car insurance.
After a DUI, you can find car insurance in Utah
You should be ready for anything after a DUI conviction in Utah. It could lead to higher premiums and loss of coverage. You might consider shopping around for car insurance based on your current situation. This could help you to find lower rates. Some insurance companies are more open to covering high-risk drivers than other. According to Bankrate’s research, the following top insurance providers were willing to cover DUI drivers.
Questions frequently asked
What will a DUI in Utah do to your criminal record?
DUI convictions can have a lasting impact on a driver’s criminal record as well as your life. You may not be able to travel to Canada if you have a DUI conviction on your record. This could put your job at risk.
What length of time does a Utah DWI stay on my record?
An old DUI conviction may be on your driving record for as long as 10 years. At that point, you might have the opportunity to have it removed. As long as the DUI is on your driving record, your car insurance premiums may be affected.
What is the cost of Utah DUI car insurance?
There are many factors that affect the cost of Utah car insurance. Your premiums could almost double. According to Bankrate, drivers who have been convicted of DUI or DWI in Utah will be paying around $2,500 annually for car insurance. This is 95% more than the state average.
Table of Contents