Finding car insurance in Vermont after a DUI

Vermonters who are convicted for DUI have the highest car insurance rates. Your car insurance premium will rise by about 135% if you are convicted of a DUI in Vermont. This is higher than the average increase of 99% in the United States. It can be difficult to find affordable car insurance once you have been convicted of a DWI in Vermont.

Vermont DUI laws

Vermont law makes it illegal to drive under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The consequences can be severe. A DUI in Vermont will result in your driver’s licence being suspended and you having to pay $6,500 in court costs and fines. A second offense can result in a two-year sentence, and a subsequent violation may lead to even longer imprisonment.

Drivers in Vermont who are convicted of a DUI/DWI must also attend counseling for alcohol and/or drugs. This can cost between $500 and $1,000. Drivers are required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle. This comes with a monthly monitoring fee and an installation fee. A DUI in Vermont can be costly. This is not counting the increased car insurance premiums.

What a DUI can do to your Vermont car insurance

Drivers in Vermont who are convicted of DUI will see their car insurance rates rise by an average 135%. This is a significantly higher increase than the 99% national average rate hike. Your car insurance premium will more than double if you get a DUI. It will increase to $2,839.

A DUI can increase car insurance rates because impaired driving shows insurance companies you are a high risk driver. It is possible to be considered a high-risk driver if you’re willing to drive after drinking or using drugs. This could make it more difficult to file claims. If you have a DUI, your insurance provider may not renew your policy.

Vermont DUI offenders are required to also purchase SR-22 Insurance. SR-22 insurance does not cover any type of insurance, but is a certificate that you have the minimum required insurance in your state. This document is necessary to renew your license and must be kept on your record for at least three years.

After a DUI, you can find car insurance in Vermont

It is possible to obtain car insurance if you have been convicted of a DUI. However, this coverage can be quite expensive. Start by comparing quotes from several insurance companies. Compare the quotes to determine which one offers the best rate and coverage.

We looked at some sample quotes for drivers convicted of DUI in Vermont to give an idea of what rates you could expect. State Farm and USAA had the best rates. Below is a table that shows the average annual rates of five providers following a DUI. It also includes a range in premiums.

You can also find affordable car insurance after a DUI conviction by looking for providers who offer multiple discounts. Many car insurance companies offer discounts for bundling a home and auto policy, enrolling automatically in payments, insuring new vehicles, and paying your annual premium. A DUI conviction will not affect this discount.

Questions frequently asked

What will a DUI in Vermont do to my criminal record?

Driving under the influence in Vermont is a crime. If you are convicted, it will remain on your criminal record for life. The first and second DUI offense in Vermont are a misdemeanor. However, if you have three or more offenses, you can be charged with a felony. A DUI conviction in Vermont is a serious matter. You can petition the court for sealing your record. This means that the conviction cannot be accessed except in certain circumstances such as an additional case. This option is only available to you if the offense occurred within ten years and it was your first offense. A DUI will permanently appear on your criminal record. However, your car insurance rates will not be affected throughout your life. Rates should start to fall after three to five year if your driving record is clean.

What is the cost of Vermont SR-22 insurance?

Vermont SR-22 insurance does not include a policy. It is therefore not subject to a deductible or a premium. The filing fee is $50 for an insurance company to submit paperwork to Vermont DMV.

What is the minimum amount of car insurance required in Vermont?

Vermont requires drivers to have 25/50/10 auto insurance. This includes $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 per accident bodily injury coverage, and $10,000 per accident property damage coverage. Many drivers opt to increase their liability coverage for greater protection, and buy optional coverages like collision or comprehensive insurance.