The state that requires no-fault auto insurance is required to have No-Fault coverage will be different. Knowing your state’s vehicle coverage laws and regulations will help you to know how to claim and who to contact. This document will show you what is required to obtain Florida no-fault coverage.
In reality, the Florida no-fault policy is only applicable to medical-related payments. This means that your auto insurance will pay for your actual personal injury claims, regardless of fault in an automobile accident. Property damage to your vehicle should still be covered by the at fault driver.
Florida law requires that motorists have at least $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP), and $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL), if they own an automobile in Florida. This law applies to self-propelled vehicles with at least 4 wheels, that are simultaneously licensed and registered in Florida. The automobile registration period must be continuous and vehicle insurance must be in force.
If you are a Florida resident, either part-time or seasonal, your car must have both PIP and PDL Florida insurance. The Florida Division of Highway Security and Motor Automobiles (www.hsmv.state.fl.us) states that the 90 days do not need to be consecutive to necessitate this insurance upon the vehicle.
Even though it isn’t mandatory, it is a good idea to have bodily injury insurance coverage. To comply with the Financial Responsibility Law, if you are involved in an accident in Florida, you will be required to have bodily injury liability coverage of at least $10,000 per person and $20,000 per incident.
Florida lawmakers designed auto insurance in this way to reduce legal cases between drivers. PIP protection helps you and your passengers pay for medical expenses if you are injured in an auto accident. It also covers the limits of your PIP policy. You can also get coverage for your children if they are riding on a school bus.
PIP protection in Florida protects you while driving your automobile, whether it is your own or that of another person. For Florida-related incidents, PIP covers you, your family members, and people without PIP. It also covers licensed drivers who use your vehicle with your permission. You and your family members will be covered for any accidents that occur outside of Florida, but within the USA or Canada.
Property Damage Liability (PDL), covers damage to property caused by you or another insured person using an automobile. It is limited to the maximum amount of insurance coverage. PDL coverage covers only damage that you or any other insured under your policy are legally responsible for. Property can include fencing, buildings and poles. Your policy will determine whether or not your PDL coverage applies to anyone using your vehicle, or only to the individuals listed on your protection plan.
PIP and PDL must be purchased by Florida residents. However, there are optional coverages that Florida vehicle owners can add to their policy. These contain bodily injuries liability, collision, comprehensive and uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injuries.