In Georgia, a DUI conviction is a serious matter. If you’re convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI), there are many consequences that come with the conviction, including increased insurance premiums. But how long does Georgia allow insurance companies to rate a DUI? The answer is not as straightforward as you might think. In this blog post, we’ll explore the laws and regulations that govern how long an insurance company can rate a DUI in Georgia. We’ll also discuss some tips for managing your premium costs after a DUI conviction. Read on to learn more about how long your car insurance company can rate a DUI in Georgia.
DUI convictions in Georgia remain on your record for
DUI convictions in Georgia remain on your record for at least 10 years. That means your auto insurance rates will be higher for at least that long. You may be able to get a break on your rates after 10 years, but it’s not guaranteed. So, if you’re convicted of DUI in Georgia, be prepared to pay higher insurance rates for the long haul.
Insurance companies in Georgia are allowed to rate a DUI for
Insurance companies in Georgia are able to rate a DUI for up to 10 years from the date of the offense. DUI rates are one of the highest insurance risks, so companies will usually continue to charge high rates even after the offense drops off your driving record.
How this affects your insurance rates
insurance rates will go up an average of 20% to 40% after a DUI conviction. The increase in your rate depends on the severity of your offense, your insurer, your location, and your driving history. In some states, insurers are allowed to surcharge drivers with a DUI conviction for up to three years.
Tips for finding the best rates after a DUI
When you are ready to shop for auto insurance after a DUI, there are a few things you can do to help make sure you get the best possible rates. Here are some tips:
-Get quotes from multiple companies. Not all insurers will penalize you equally for a DUI, so it’s important to compare rates.
-Consider using an insurance agent or broker. They can help you compare rates and find the company that will give you the best deal.
-Ask about discounts. Some companies offer discounts for things like taking a defensive driving course or installing an ignition interlock device in your car.
-Be prepared to pay more for coverage. A DUI will likely result in higher premiums, so be prepared to budget accordingly.