How Long Must You Have Sr22 Insurance In Missouri?

If you’ve been convicted of a DUI or DWI in Missouri, you’ll need to obtain sr22 insurance coverage. This is also known as financial responsibility insurance and it provides proof to the state that you are financially capable of covering any potential damages from an auto accident. But how long do you have to keep this coverage?

It’s important to understand the rules when it comes to sr22 insurance in Missouri before making a purchase. In this blog post, we will discuss everything you need to know about sr22 insurance in the state of Missouri and how long you must maintain your coverage.

What is SR22 Insurance?

SR22 insurance is a type of vehicle insurance that is required by the state of Missouri for certain drivers. It is similar to regular vehicle insurance, but it has an added component that requires the insurance company to file a SR22 form with the state on behalf of the insured driver. The SR22 form proves that the driver has the minimum amount of liability insurance required by law.

Drivers in Missouri are required to have SR22 insurance if they have been convicted of certain traffic violations, such as DUI/DWI, reckless driving, or leaving the scene of an accident. Drivers who have had their licenses suspended or revoked for any reason may also be required to obtain SR22 insurance.

The length of time that a driver is required to maintain SR22 insurance depends on the reason for which it was originally required. For example, a driver who was convicted of DUI/DWI will typically be required to maintain SR22 insurance for three years from the date of conviction. A driver who had his or her license suspended due to failure to maintain financial responsibility (i.e., car insurance) will be required to maintain SR22 insurance for three years from the date of reinstatement.

It is important to note that SR22 insurance is not available through all insurers. Drivers who are required to obtain SR22 insurance should contact several different insurers to find one that offers this type of coverage.

How Long Do You Need SR22 Insurance in Missouri?

In Missouri, you are required to maintain SR22 insurance for a period of three years. This means that you must have an active policy in place for at least 36 months. If you cancel your policy or let it lapse, your insurance company will notify the state and your driving privileges will be suspended.

How Much Does SR22 Insurance Cost in Missouri?

The cost of SR22 insurance in Missouri varies depending on the insurance company, but it is typically around $25 per month. However, there may be additional fees associated with SR22 insurance, such as a filing fee.

How to Get SR22 Insurance in Missouri

If you need SR22 insurance in Missouri, there are a few things you need to do. First, you need to find an insurance company that offers SR22 insurance. There are a few companies that offer this type of insurance, so you should be able to find one that meets your needs. Once you have found an insurance company that offers SR22 insurance, you need to get a quote from them. Be sure to get a few quotes so that you can compare prices.

Once you have found an insurance company that offers the right price for SR22 insurance, you need to fill out an application. The application will ask for some personal information, as well as some information about your vehicle.

You will also need to provide proof of financial responsibility. After you have filled out the application, the insurance company will review it and give you a decision. If they approve your application, they will send you an SR22 certificate. This certificate needs to be filed with the Missouri Department of Revenue.

Once the Missouri Department of Revenue has received your SR22 certificate, they will send you a letter confirming that your vehicle is properly insured. You must keep this letter in your car at all times. If you are ever pulled over without proof of financial responsibility, you could face serious penalties, including jail time.


In Missouri, SR22 insurance is required for drivers who have had their license suspended due to certain offenses. The length of time you must keep your SR22 insurance depends on the violation and can range from three months to up to five years. It’s important to understand the specific requirements for having SR22 in Missouri so that you can be sure you are compliant with state law and maintain your driving privileges.