How much does it cost for insurance after a DUI in Illinois?

Author:

Insurance companies consider your driving history when determining your rates. Higher rates may be due to things like accidents and speeding tickets. A DUI conviction can make your driving record more important than minor incidents, such as a speeding ticket.

What does a DUI do to your insurance rates?

Illinois and other states will make you a high-risk driver if you are convicted of DUI. This will result in higher insurance rates for many years. The length of time that you’ll have to pay higher rates will vary depending on which car insurance company you choose.

With a DUI, the average rates are 99% lower than pre-DUI rates. The average rate of car insurance in Illinois after a DUI is lower than it was before. This chart shows an average increase in insurance rates of 85% for those with a DUI.

Average DUI rates for the United States vs. their respective states

Pre-DUIAfter DUIIncrease of 1%
National$1,674$3,33699%
Illinois$1,485$2,74485%

What is the cost of insurance for a DUI in Illinois after?

Insurance rates can vary depending on whether you are convicted of DUI. Below are comparisons of Illinois insurance companies. They show rates before and after a DUI conviction. The first chart displays minimum liability coverage, while the second shows full coverage.

ALSO READ  Is Usps First Class Insured?

Provider rates for Illinois with DUI minimum coverage

ProviderAverage minimum coverage rateDUI coverage minimum rate
AAA$1,103$3,513
Allstate$416$1,148
American Family$1,038$1,212
Auto-Owners$368$1,054
Cincinnati Insurance$414$1,094
Country Financial$438$622
Erie$325$548
Farmers$460$698
Geico$267$715
Grange$295$305
Hastings Mutual$439$1,854
J & P Holdings$368$915
Kemper$664$708
Mercury$273$376
MetLife$551$1,422
All over the country$362$646
Pekin$230$505
Progressive$525$525
Rockford Mutual$314$870
Safe Auto$705$1,128
Secura$282$710
State Farm$316$486
The Hanover$1,326$2,331
Travelers$402$588
USAA$400$834

For full coverage, Illinois provider rates include DUI

ProviderAverage coverage rateFull coverage with DUI
AAA$3,772$9,694
Allstate$1,637$3,537
American Family$2,598$2,855
Auto-Owners$1,126$2,767
Cincinnati Insurance$1,403$3,729
Country Financial$1,648$2,367
Erie$1,024$1,611
Farmers$1,100$1,667
Geico$928$2,559
Grange$1,068$1,256
Hastings Mutual$1,152$4,033
J & P Holdings$1,468$3,840
Kemper$2,792$3,127
Mercury$990$1,212
MetLife$1,631$3,251
All over the country$1,098$1,969
Pekin$715$1,436
Progressive$1,299$1,384
Rockford Mutual$1,090$3,154
Safe Auto$1,452$2,252
Secura$905$2,116
State Farm$935$1,374
The Hanover$7,480$12,846
Travelers$916$1,456
USAA$1,242$2,562

Other Illinois DUI Consequences

DUI can lead to higher insurance premiums. You can also face license suspension and fines in Illinois. A DUI charge can be filed if your blood alcohol level exceeds 0.8. Commercial truck drivers are subject to a lower threshold of 0.4 or greater. A DUI charge in Illinois can be filed against anyone under 21 years of age or who is a school bus driver.

ALSO READ  Are life insurance loans a bad idea?

DUI can also be a result of impairment by controlled substances or medications. Even though recreational and medical cannabis are legal in Illinois, you could also be charged with DUI if your blood contains five nanograms of THC or more or in any other bodily fluid (urine) that contains more than ten nanograms.

Illinois law allows implied consent. This means that you must submit to a field sobriety exam if requested by a police officer. Your license will be suspended for six months if you fail the test for the first time. You also have the option to purchase a Breath Alcohol Interlock Device (BAIID) if you fail. Refusing to take the test will result in your license being suspended for one year. You are still eligible for the device.

Your license is suspended for one year if you are convicted of a DUI in Illinois. Refusing to take the test will result in your license being suspended for three consecutive years without any option for BAIID.

Within 90 days of the notice, drivers have the right to request a hearing before the court to contest the suspension. If the court rules in favor of you, the suspension will be rescinded. Your driving record will be updated.

ALSO READ  How to Save Money and Get Discount Long Term Care Insurance in Missouri

The severity of your impairment and whether you were driving a minor with you in Illinois will affect the penalties. These are the penalties that you might face for your first offense.

  • Class A misdemeanor
  • Licensing suspension for one year for those over 21 years old and two years for those under 21
  • Suspended vehicle registration
  • BAC 0.16 and higher: Minimum $500 fine, minimum 100 hours of community service
  • Transporting a minor below 16 years old: Minimum six month sentence, $1,000 minimum fine and 25 days of community service in the youth’s best interests
  • Transporting a minor in an accident causing bodily injury to child: Charged with Aggravated DUI, Class 4 Feminine, Minimum Fine of $2,500, 25 days community service benefiting children

The second conviction:

  • Class A misdemeanor
  • Five-day minimum sentence in jail or 240 hours community service
  • Suspend your license for five years
  • Suspension of vehicle registration
  • Minimum $1,250 fine and 2 days imprisonment for BACs above 0.16
  • Aggravated DUI: Class 4 crime
  • Transporting a minor in an accident causing bodily injury to the child: Class 2 felony, mandatory $5,000 fine, 25-days community service
ALSO READ  Cheap Insurance Quotes For Smokers

Conviction for third offense

  • Class 2 felony
  • License suspension for minimum 10 years
  • Suspended vehicle registration
  • BAC 0.16 and higher: Minimum 90-day mandatory prison sentence, $2,500 minimum fine
  • For aggravated DUI, a $25,000 fine and 25 days community service are required

Fourth conviction

  • Class 2 felony
  • Driver’s license can be revoked for life
  • Minimum $5,000 Fine for BAC 0.16 and higher
  • Aggravated DUI: Same as third offense

These additional penalties are not intended to include any criminal or administrative sanctions if you are convicted of DUI in Illinois. There are many possible consequences to being convicted and charged with DUI.

FAQ

What is the penalty for first-time DUI in Illinois?

The penalties will vary depending on the outcome of a chemical test and whether sobriety field tests are rejected by the driver or if there were minor passengers in the vehicle. You will be charged minimum with a Class A Misdemeanor, subject to a minimum penalty, license suspension and possible jail time.

Is DUI a crime in Illinois?

A DUI in Illinois is usually not considered a felony unless you are caught driving while impaired the third time. You could face a Class 4 felony if you inflict bodily injury on a minor or cause an accident while impaired.

ALSO READ  The Concept of Basis in Commodity Futures

Are you facing a first DUI in Illinois that could result in your license being suspended?

A DUI conviction in Illinois could result in your license being suspended for six months. Refusing to take the field sobriety exam will result in your license being suspended for one year. If you have an interlock ignition device installed on your vehicle, you may be eligible for your driver’s licence to be reinstated.

What length of time does a DUI stay on your Illinois record?

Illinois has a zero tolerance policy that will not allow a DUI conviction to be removed from your driving record. It will remain there for the rest of your life.