Idaho car insurance laws

Idaho drivers may be aware that they must have minimum auto insurance in order to legally drive in the state. Idaho law requires you to carry at least 25/50/15 liability insurance.

An Idaho minimum-coverage policy with an average cost is $274. This is significantly lower than the national average of $563 per year. The average cost of full coverage in Idaho includes comprehensive and collision insurance.

It is worth purchasing more than the minimum to ensure you are financially protected in case of serious accidents. In some instances, Idaho’s minimum car insurance might not provide enough coverage. You should consider additional liability coverage and other optional coverage options so you don’t have to pay out of pocket for damages caused by a car accident.

Idaho has laws regarding car insurance

Here’s a list of the items you need to have:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per individual and per accident. Your insurer will pay up to $25,000 towards the injuries sustained by the other driver or passengers in an at fault accident.
  • $50k of bodily injury liability per accident. Your insurer would cover this coverage at $50,000.
  • $15,000 for property damage liability.

Idaho offers liability insurance

Idaho’s auto insurance requirements were put in place to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. Idaho’s liability requirements are comparable to other states. However, they may not be sufficient and you might consider buying more than the minimum.

The 25/50 minimum coverage may not be sufficient in a serious accident with injuries. The cost of surgery, physical therapy, and post-operative care can quickly run into the thousands. Legal costs could also rise if the other driver files a case against you.

Consider the $15,000 minimum for property damage. Today’s cars are often more expensive than $15,000, whether they are new or used. You might face thousands of dollars in out-of-pocket expenses if you hit a luxury sedan.

Only the injuries and property damage to other drivers would be covered by liability. You would be responsible for additional costs if your vehicle was damaged or you were injured.

Idaho is it a state of no-fault?

Idaho is not a state that has no-fault. You can file a claim with your insurer in any of the 12 states considered no-fault. Idaho does not allow you to file a claim against the other driver’s insurance if they are at fault.

Idaho is not considered a no fault state. You can sue another driver to recover your losses or to pay for your pain, suffering, and other damages.

Driving without insurance in Idaho carries severe penalties

Idaho drivers must have proof of their liability insurance at all times. They also need to be able present it to police officers if stopped. They have 30 days to produce proof of their insurance or other proof if they don’t have it. Otherwise, their registration will be suspended.

Infractions that are not proof of insurance will result in a $75 penalty. Second and subsequent violations can lead to fines up to $1,000, or even six months imprisonment. Drivers who regain their license and registration may need to obtain an SR-22 form as proof that they have met the legal requirements.

Idaho offers additional auto insurance options

To provide more comprehensive and robust protection, you can also purchase optional insurance in Idaho. These are the most popular types of optional insurance that Idaho drivers can purchase:

  • Collision coverage: Your liability insurance will cover damage to other cars, but collision coverage will not. You will need to pay for damages to your car from your own pocket.
  • Comprehensive: comprehensive covers damage to your vehicle from non-accidental mishaps. This covers theft, vandalism, and acts of the nature.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist: 8.2% of Idaho’s drivers are on the road illegally with no insurance. This coverage will pay for your injuries and damage to your vehicle if you are involved in an accident with one. This coverage will help you if the other driver doesn’t have enough insurance.
  • Personal injury protection (PIP), or medical payments (medpay): These coverage options can help you pay for your injuries in an accident and pay for lost wages or childcare.
  • Gap insurance: You will receive a check if your car is damaged or stolen. However, it will only be for the car’s current value. This coverage will cover you for any excess you owe on your car loan so that you don’t have to pay extra.
  • Rental reimbursement: This coverage will cover you if your car is being repaired following an accident.
  • A new car replacement: If your car is less than two years old, some insurers provide this coverage.

Questions frequently asked

Which Idaho company offers the best auto insurance?

A number of insurance companies in Idaho offer good policies at a fair price. We recommend that you start with our Top Idaho Car Insurance Companies 2021 List to find the best one. You want to find the company that offers the lowest price, superior customer service, and broad coverage options.

Which Idaho state has the lowest car insurance?

There is no one company that offers the best car insurance in Idaho. Your premium rate will be different than your neighbors’ because it depends on many factors such as the age and type of your car, credit score, marital status, and your marital status. Our Cheap Auto Insurance Companies of 2021 list is a good place to begin your search for affordable car insurance.

Is Idaho’s insurance law sufficient to protect me in case of an accident?

It could be, depending on the severity of the accident and whether any injuries are present. Idaho has high medical costs. A simple stay in a hospital can cost thousands of dollars. The minimum liability may not cover you if you need extensive rehabilitation or surgery. To be adequately covered, we recommend that you buy as much liability insurance, such as 100/300/50.