Kansas law requires you to have car insurance if your vehicle is registered. Auto insurance serves two purposes. It protects your legal and financial responsibilities in case of an at-fault accident. Here are some things to know about accidents in Kansas:
- Kansas had 64,682 traffic incidents in 2019.
- In 2019, there were 2150 alcohol-related crashes.
- General driver negligence is responsible for most accidents in Kansas.
Each state has its own car insurance laws. It is important to know the laws in your particular area. Kansas car insurance laws can be quite simple, but you could face serious penalties if your vehicle is caught without proper insurance.
Kansas has laws regarding car insurance
Kansas requires drivers to have a minimum level of insurance to be able to drive legally in Kansas. You have the option of purchasing additional coverage if you need it. Kansas minimum car insurance is abbreviated as 25/50/25 and includes personal liability and uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage. These are the coverage limits:
- $25,000 per person in bodily injury coverage/UM/UIM
- $50,000 per accident in bodily injury coverage/UM/UIM
- $25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
Kansas offers liability insurance
Kansas requires liability insurance. Bodily injury liability insurance covers the cost of medical bills for other drivers. Property damage liability coverage covers vehicle repairs. If you are hit by a driver without insurance or who doesn’t have enough, UM/UIM coverage will cover your losses.
Kansas requires liability insurance. However, drivers should increase their coverage or purchase additional policies to provide more protection. A minimum coverage policy may not cover all costs of an accident. This could make you financially responsible for some of them.
Liability insurance does not cover your vehicle in the event of an accident. Most insurance companies recommend that drivers buy collision and comprehensive insurance to help pay for the costs of repairs after an accident. Comprehensive insurance also includes coverage for car theft.
Is Kansas a state of no-fault?
Kansas is a state that does not accept responsibility for an accident. This means that each driver’s insurance company will cover their medical expenses after an accident regardless of who caused it. The at-fault driver’s insurance company will pay the other driver’s medical expenses and any related expenses, such as lost wages, in a fault state.
Kansas insurance laws require that all drivers have personal injury protection (PIP), in order to comply with the no-fault state provision. Kansas’s minimum coverage for PIP is:
- $4,500 per person to cover medical expenses
- $900 per month loss of income (maximum one year)
- $25 per day for in home healthcare services (maximum one year).
- $2,000 to pay for funeral and burial expenses
- Rehabilitation services: $4,500
Kansas penalizes drivers who drive without insurance
It is illegal to drive without insurance in Kansas. This can lead to severe consequences. For a first offense, drivers will pay a fine between $300 – $1,000. A second offense within three years will result in a fine of $800 to $2,500. Drivers could also spend up to six months in prison depending on the circumstances.
License suspension is another penalty for driving without insurance. In order to get your driving privileges reinstated, you may be required to purchase SR-22 insurance, which can cause your car insurance premium to increase significantly for several years.
Kansas offers additional auto insurance options
Kansas insurance law requires that you have liability insurance, UM/UIM, and PIP. Kansas drivers might want to look into additional coverage options to increase their protection. These are the most popular:
- Roadside assistance — This covers basic repairs like a flat tire repair, a new battery and fuel delivery. It also includes towing up to a specified distance, as well as extrication of your vehicle if it gets stuck in snow or water.
- Accident forgiveness — This endorsement will prevent your insurance rates from rising after your first accident. Insurance companies will waive your first accident only if you have losses below a certain amount.
- Gap insurance — Drivers who finance or lease their vehicle should look into gap insurance. Gap insurance can help you pay the difference between your remaining loan balance and your car’s diminished worth if it is totaled.
Questions frequently asked
Which Kansas insurance company is best?
The best car insurance company in Kansas is different for every driver. It all depends on your needs, such as your budget, the type of coverage that you require, whether you are eligible for discounts, and how much coverage you require. Some of the top auto insurance companies in the state are State Farm, Shelter and Nationwide.
Which Kansas state has the lowest car insurance?
There are a number of cheap car insurance companies in Kansas. American Family, Farmers and USAA are some of our top recommendations. Keep in mind, however, that car insurance prices can vary depending on your personal circumstances.
What is the cost of Kansas car insurance?
The average cost of car insurance in Kansas is $1,698 per year for a full coverage policy and $142 per year for a minimum coverage policy. Remember that insurance rates for car insurance are individual. You might pay more or less depending on your zip code, age, credit score and driving record.