Personal injury protection (PIP), insurance for no-fault states, may be something you have heard about from an insurance agent. Kansas law requires personal injury protection to be included in any type of insurance.
PIP insurance in Kansas is part of all insurance policies in the state. This insurance protects you from medical expenses and more in the event of an accident. It also allows you to bypass the courts and get a quick payout for claims that are needed to pay hospital bills or other injuries-related expenses.
How does Kansas PIP insurance operate? The process is simple and can be started by filing a claim with the insurer after an accident.
What is PIP insurance?
There are a variety of coverage options available for your auto insurance. Some of these are required by the state, others are optional. These coverage options provide different types depending on what happens behind the wheel. You are required to carry bodily injury and property liability for accidents where you are at fault, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in case you are hit by someone without insurance.
You will also need to carry PIP coverage. This will cover your medical expenses, lost wages, and other damages in an accident. It also allows you to quickly get a check in your hand when you need it. There are several ways to break down the Kansas minimum amount.
- Up to $4,500 in medical benefits
- Rehabilitation benefits up to $4,000.
- Loss of wages: Up to $900 per month
- Daily chores such as cleaning can cost up to $25 per day for a year
- Funeral benefits up to $2,000
However, this coverage may not be all that is required to protect your interests. To protect your vehicle after a collision, you can add optional coverages to your policy such as collision or comprehensive.
What is Kansas PIP?
How does Kansas PIP operate? It’s very simple. Kansas PIP insurance can be used to cover expenses incurred after a collision regardless of fault. You would file a PIP case with your own insurance company, not the other driver’s. You would instead of suing the other driver, which can be costly and take many years to resolve, you would settle for what your insurer has awarded you.
These are the costs your PIP insurance will pay:
- Ambulance services
- Surgery costs
- Nursing care
- Rehabilitation costs
- While you are still recovering, your lost wages
- You may need to hire a cleaner while you’re recovering from an illness.
For example, if you get hit at an intersection while turning left and suffer injuries that need hospitalization, you may be covered by the other driver’s insurance. However, you can also claim your PIP coverage for the cost of hiring someone to help you grocery shop while you recover.
Kansas requires PIP.
Kansas law requires that you have PIP to drive on Kansas’ public streets. If you are hoping to see Kansas PIP insurance explained, the state’s insurance department clearly outlines the PIP coverage you will need.
Your insurance agent might offer medical payments coverage, also known as medpay. Medpay is similar in that it covers medical expenses, but not more. Unlike PIP, it won’t cover lost wages and household costs. Although it can provide an additional buffer for you after an accident, it is not as important as PIP.
What is the cost of PIP in Kansas?
Insurance costs can vary widely from one person to the next. When determining insurance rates, insurers consider many factors. These include the vehicle’s age, make, model, location, credit score, and owner’s credit history.
The amount of PIP coverage that you buy is another factor. Kansas law requires that you have at least $4,500 of PIP coverage. You can also add additional coverages, as we have already discussed. You can also carry more coverage if you’re willing to pay a higher rate. The cost of PIP insurance Kansas will differ from one driver to the next.
Important points to remember about Kansas’s PIP insurance
Kansas drivers are subject to PIP. This is how you should know it.
- How does Kansas PIP operate? It is quick and easy to get a payment for your injury claim after an accident.
- Kansas is a state that is considered no-fault. Therefore, PIP insurance in Kansas is compulsory.
- Kansas’s PIP coverage will cover a range of medical expenses, as well lost wages and household chores.
- You can no longer sue another driver if you have PIP insurance in Kansas.
Questions frequently asked
How do I file a PIP claim and when should I?
No matter who is at fault or whether you were the driver, you should file your PIP claim in Kansas as soon after an accident. Although you are allowed to file the claim for up to two years, PIP is intended to return money as soon as possible.
Is PIP and medical payment the same thing?
Kansas drivers have two types of insurance: PIP and medical payments. Both will cover medical expenses following an accident. Medpay is optional, but it can be used as a back-up policy for added security. Medpay coverage is less extensive than PIP. It does not cover lost wages, household benefits, or some medical costs like psychiatric care.