Louisiana drivers need to be familiar with the Louisiana car insurance laws. Louisiana has many wonderful experiences and miles of roads that allow residents to enjoy the state’s beautiful scenery. To do this, all 3.4 Million drivers in Louisiana need to have the right insurance or risk severe penalties.
Louisiana has laws regarding car insurance
Louisiana has car insurance laws that are similar to other states. You can avoid potential driving disasters by understanding the laws applicable to you as a driver. This includes:
- To get a driver’s licence, drivers must show proof of insurance
- While behind the wheel, drivers must always be able show proof of insurance
- Minimum liability coverage must be carried by drivers, which includes both bodily injury as well as property damage.
Louisiana offers liability insurance
Louisiana car insurance laws require that drivers have minimum liability coverage. These limits are referred to as 15/30/25. This includes:
- $15,000 per person for bodily injuries
- $30,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 coverage to cover damage to another vehicle or property
Not having the minimum coverage does not necessarily mean that you are adequately covered. If you are involved in a multi-car accident, for example, the $30,000 per accident for bodily injury can make you very short. The $30,000 may not be sufficient if multiple people need medical attention. The difference between your insurance limits, and the amount owed would be your legal responsibility.
Although uninsured motorist coverage does not have to be mandatory, it is a smart idea. Louisiana is currently 26th for the most uninsured drivers in the country. Even though this is not the highest, it does mean that you may be in an accident with someone without insurance. You would need to sue the driver if you don’t have this extra coverage. This can take a lot of time and effort.
Is Louisiana a no-fault state?
Louisiana is an state that is at-fault . This is a different legal status than a state with no fault. If a driver causes an accident, they are responsible to pay for damages and medical treatment. Insurance limits could also mean that the at-fault driver may be sued for additional damages, injuries, or any other accident expenses.
Driving without insurance in Louisiana carries severe penalties
For not complying with the Louisiana car insurance laws, drivers face severe penalties. Louisiana law requires all car owners to have automobile insurance. A driver who is caught driving without insurance can face fines ranging from $500 to $1,000.
Additional penalties can be applied if your insurance is not valid or you fail to provide proof. Your driving privileges may be suspended or your vehicle impounded if you cannot prove that you have liability insurance. You could lose your car registration or license plates.
Your driver’s licence could be suspended and your registration may be revoked for as long as 180 days if you are in an accident that is not covered by liability insurance. Falsely claiming that you have insurance can lead to similar serious consequences.
Louisiana is also considered a “No Play, No Pay” state. This means that if you don’t have insurance, you can only collect a certain amount of payments after a car crash, even if the other driver is at fault. Your limits without insurance are:
- First $25,000 in property damage
- Personal injuries: The first $15,000
Louisiana offers additional auto insurance options
Louisiana drivers pay an average $2711 per year to get full coverage. This is the highest average in the nation, but they don’t have to compromise on coverage. You have many options to personalize your policy and ensure adequate protection. Louisiana drivers may add:
- Collision: Insurance covers your car for damages caused by an accident. Collision insurance also covers damage caused by hitting a stationary object. According to the III, collision insurance costs in Louisiana average $468.87
- Comprehensive is This insurance covers damages to your vehicle that are not caused by an accident. This covers damage to your car from theft, vandalism and flooding. According to III, Louisiana’s average cost for comprehensive coverage is $231.76/year.
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist: This provides extra financial protection if you are involved in another accident and the at-fault driver does not carry or have adequate insurance. It covers medical expenses, lost income, and any other costs resulting from an accident that you have to recover.
- Rental car coverage: This affordable option will reimburse you for your car if it is damaged in an accident. Direct billing is an option that many carriers offer.
- Gap coverage If your new car is totaled in an accident, it’s likely that you owe more to the lender or lease than the value of your car from the insurance company. You don’t have to pay extra for this insurance. This insurance is required by many lenders for leases or new cars.
- Roadside Assistance: This is another way to make life easier in the event that your car breaks down. This assistance can help you get unstuck, tow your car, or deliver fuel. It also helps with roadside problems.
Questions frequently asked
Which is the best auto insurance company in Louisiana?
Many factors are considered when deciding the best Louisiana car insurance company. To get started, consider the company’s financial stability and customer service ratings. Rates and discounts are also important. compared many carriers in Louisiana and found that USAA and Geico have excellent ratings and offer competitive rates for drivers.
Which is the best car insurance policy in Louisiana?
Even with Louisiana’s high auto insurance rates, cheap car insurance is possible. Bankrate compared rates from several companies and chose Geico as the most affordable. Geico costs around $448 per annum for minimum coverage, and $2162 — both rates are well below the average.
How can I get Louisiana car insurance at a lower price?
Comparing prices is a great way to save money. Comparing multiple carriers will help you find the one that offers you the best coverage at the lowest price. Another great way to save is to ask for all discounts. A higher deductible can lower your premiums. Keep your credit score high to get the best rates.