You can forget about comparing rates when buying Massachusetts car insurance and instead focus on customer service. If the insurance company refuses to pay your claims, it doesn’t matter how low your rate.
Massachusetts is home to the fourth highest rate of car insurance in the country. The program has been subject to a lot of scrutiny at times.
Each fall, the Massachusetts Attorney General issues recommendations for car insurance rates. The recommendation of the state’s trade association for auto insurance companies follows. These two recommendations are often miles apart. Then the dance begins until insurance rates are finally set by the Division of Insurance in Massachusetts. This agency also regulates the commissions independent car insurance agents can charge.
You can’t register your car in Massachusetts unless you have minimum required car insurance. The Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles requires that your car insurance company stamp your registration application. No stamp, no registration.
You can cancel your MA auto insurance policy by obtaining the stamp and registration. However, this is illegal and could result in heavy fines or suspension of your license.
Massachusetts has minimum requirements for car insurance. In Massachusetts, you must have bodily injury coverage that covers at least $20,000 for each person involved in an accident, and as much as $40,000 for everyone else.
You must also have property damage coverage of at least $5,000 Property damage coverage protects you from injury or destruction to property belonging to another person.
You must also have personal injury coverage in an amount of at most $8,000. Personal injury protection (PIP), which pays medical and lost earnings, does not consider who is at fault for an accident.
These are just minimum requirements, but it might be a good idea to purchase additional coverage for such things as uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM), as well as collision and comprehensive car insurance Remember, you may be held financially responsible for any expenses that are over and above your car insurance limits. Some car insurance companies recommend you have at least $100,000 of personal injury and liability coverage. However, if you are able to afford it, you may want to increase that amount to $500,000.
The Safe Driver Program is a result of the Massachusetts state government working with insurance companies to set rates. The program was created to place the greatest burden on those drivers who make more insurance claims, and reward safe drivers. If you are cited or found guilty in a car accident resulting in damages exceeding $500, you will be required to pay insurance surcharges. These can quickly add up.
Massachusetts uses a point system. Your driver’s license will be assessed with one to five points if you are cited or involved in an accident. Each point can lead to an additional 15 percent on each of your required car insurance parts. This could amount to hundreds of thousands of dollar. There is no other way to get rid of points than to keep your driving record clean and to drive safely.
Massachusetts does not permit you to attend driver’s schools to reduce points, unlike other states.
Massachusetts residents may not have many options when it comes to their insurance premiums. However, they do have the option of choosing which car insurance company to work with. You should pay close attention to the communication skills of your Massachusetts car insurance provider. You should find out whether they offer 24/7 claims service, if it is possible to pay your premiums online and how quickly claims are processed. It is worth shopping around to find the best car insurance company for you.
You might also want to stop by Harvard when driving through Cambridge. It was founded in 1636. It is the oldest university in America. Massachusetts is safe to drive no matter where you are.