The Massachusetts Department of Transportation reported 140,470 automobile accidents in 2019. Nearly 33,000 car crashes resulted in at least one injury and 323 people died in accidents throughout the state.
Massachusetts drivers must have car insurance in order to protect themselves as well as other drivers. It is crucial to understand Massachusetts car insurance laws in order to have adequate coverage and comply with the minimum coverage requirements.
Massachusetts Car Insurance Laws
Massachusetts has many core laws regarding car insurance. It doesn’t matter if you’re a Massachusetts resident or just moving here, it is important to be familiar with the rules and what your rights are as a driver. These are Massachusetts’ car insurance laws:
- Drivers need minimum coverage insurance. All Massachusetts drivers must have minimum liability and uninsured motorist coverage.
- Drivers must have no-fault insurance. Massachusetts, a state of no-fault, requires drivers to have personal injury protection (PIP).
- Drivers need to have insurance before they can register a vehicle. Massachusetts drivers will need proof of insurance to register their vehicle with Department of Motor Vehicles.
- Your policy must include household members: Massachusetts law requires that any relatives who live with you must be included on your auto insurance policy.
- Discriminatory reasons cannot prevent you from getting coverage: Massachusetts insurance companies are prohibited from considering a driver’s credit score and marital status when calculating their premium. The state still allows age to be considered as a factor.
- All drivers are entitled to auto insurance. Drivers in Massachusetts can get insurance through the Massachusetts Automobile Insurance Plan.
Massachusetts Liability Insurance
Massachusetts insurance law requires that all drivers have liability insurance as well as uninsured motorist coverage. These are the minimum Massachusetts car insurance requirements:
- $20,000 bodily injury liability/uninsured body injury liability coverage per individual
- $40,000 per accident in bodily injuries liability/uninsured body injury liability coverage
- $5,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
Minimum coverage insurance is the best option for drivers. They will be charged the lowest premium. It is not always the best option to settle for minimum coverage insurance. Car accidents can be costly and liability-only insurance may not be sufficient to cover all costs.
Imagine, for example, that you drove into a storefront and caused $60,000 of property damage. Your policy would cover only $5,000 for losses if it had minimum coverage. In such a case, the $55,000 difference would need to be paid out-of-pocket.
You should also remember that liability-only insurance does NOT include protection for your vehicle. You would be responsible for the cost of repairs to your vehicle if you hit a deer or accidently crash into a mailbox.
Is Massachusetts a state of no fault?
Massachusetts is one 12 state that has no-fault auto insurance laws. No-fault states allow drivers to have their insurance pay for medical expenses and lost wages following an accident. Other 38 states have fault insurance laws. The at-fault driver’s insurance company pays the other driver’s medical bills.
Massachusetts is a state that has no fault, and Massachusetts drivers must have Personal Injuries Protection (PIP). Your car insurance policy will pay for your medical expenses after an accident. PIP covers the part of your car insurance that covers your medical costs. Massachusetts’ minimum PIP coverage is $8,000 for each person and $8,000 for each accident. However, drivers can choose to have higher coverage.
Massachusetts Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
It is illegal to drive without Massachusetts car insurance. You could be charged with driving without insurance in Massachusetts and have your license suspended for up 60 days. You could be jailed for more than one offense, as well as higher penalties and longer license suspensions.
Additional Auto Insurance Options in Massachusetts
Many drivers purchase coverage that goes beyond what Massachusetts requires. Although your premium will increase, you get more protection by purchasing additional coverage. These are some of the most popular policies in Massachusetts.
- Collision Insurance: collision insurance will cover your vehicle’s repair costs after an accident. Massachusetts’s average collision insurance cost is $427/year.
- Comprehensive Insurance: Comprehensive coverage will cover damage to your vehicle that is not due to an accident. In other words, it covers theft, vandalism and falling objects. Comprehensive insurance costs $145 in Massachusetts.
- You will see an increase in your car insurance premium after an accident. Your rate will not rise if you add accident forgiveness to your policy.
- Gap insurance: gap insurance is for those who own a leased vehicle or a financed one. Gap insurance covers the cost of gap insurance if your vehicle is damaged in an accident.
Most Frequently Asked Questions
Which Massachusetts car insurance company is best?
Massachusetts has many car insurance companies, but each driver will have a different experience with the best one. The best customer service company might not necessarily be the most affordable. You can shop around to find the best Massachusetts car insurance company.
What is the best Massachusetts car insurance?
According to Bankrate’s research Amica and Geico are the most affordable car insurance companies in Massachusetts. You might pay more than the quoted premiums, however, because your actual car insurance rate is based on factors such as your driving record, age, and type of car. When calculating your rate, Massachusetts doesn’t consider your income or credit score.
What is the cost of Massachusetts car insurance?
The average cost for car insurance in Massachusetts for full coverage is $1,183 and $397 respectively. Massachusetts’ average car insurance premium is significantly lower than the national average of $1,738 annually for full coverage.