The purpose of auto insurance is to protect yourself in an accident, whether you or another driver is at fault. Many insurance companies offer coverage, and rates vary based on your factors such as your area, your car and your driving record. Standard insurance may not be an option if a person’s driving record is revoked or suspended.
The Michigan SR-22 (also known as a certificate or financial responsibility) is a form that the state files to prove that the driver meets all insurance requirements. This certificate issued by the court allows one to have their license reinstated or renewed. After the SR-22 has been filed, the driver is eligible to apply for regular auto insurance. Only SR-22-insured companies will be able to insure drivers who have been convicted of driving violations.
What is “SR-22 insurance?”
An SR-22 does not constitute insurance. It is an insurance company’s form that you fill out on your behalf to prove that you are insured.
Drivers with a history of driving violations will need an SR-22. A DUI conviction or multiple minor speeding tickets could be enough to make someone high-risk. If someone is in an accident with at least the minimum car insurance, they may need to obtain an SR-22.
An SR-22 is required for drivers whose licenses are suspended or revoked by the state. First, find an insurance company that offers SR-22 coverage. This coverage is not available from all insurance companies. They have strict underwriting rules and prohibit high-risk drivers from being insured. Your carrier will file all necessary paperwork with Michigan’s Secretary-of-State once you have purchased a plan.
Drivers must maintain minimum liability coverage. This minimum liability coverage is required in Michigan at $50,000 per person and $100,000 per incident. The insurance company will notify Michigan if there is a lapse in coverage. This can lead to a suspension or revocation.
SR-22 Michigan alternatives
Drivers may also need additional forms than the SR-22 form in some circumstances. The state requirements will determine the form required. Certain states require drivers to prove financial responsibility for reckless driving. Others require proof of insurance. Although some forms are the same, each state may require a different title. Although the SR-22 form is the most popular among states, requirements for forms vary from one state to the next.
- SR-19: This document proves that the driver was insured at the time of the accident. After being in an accident with another driver who wasn’t insured, a driver can file.
- SR-21: This document proves that a driver was covered by an auto policy at the time of an accident.
- SR-22A is required for drivers who have been convicted of a misdemeanor, felony or at-fault incident.
- FR-44: This document shows that a driver is insured after a major driving offense.
- SR-50: This is proof that a driver has the minimum amount of liability insurance required.
SR-22 for non-owners
The non-owners SR-22 can be used for drivers who are responsible for certain violations. It is similar to the standard SR-22. The main difference is that the non owner form is only for drivers who don’t own a vehicle.
In order to drive a car while renting or borrowing from a friend, one must be covered. Their driving privileges will be restored but they are only covered for any injuries to others on the road. The non-owners SR-22 does not provide coverage for physical damage. It only covers the driver, and not a vehicle.
Non-owner SR-22 permits those with a history of reckless driving and no car to still drive when needed.
Michigan SR-22 insurance costs
Compared to all other states, Michigan is one of the highest-ranked states for auto insurance with an average of $2,309 per year. The cost of an SR-22 is much higher than the average.
Insurance companies in Michigan that offer SR-22 coverage have a filing fee. The filing fee for the insurance company to fill out the form on behalf of the driver is typically $50. Additionally, the Michigan Secretary Of State will charge a fee for the reinstatement of your license.
Higher insurance premiums will result in higher costs. If someone is classified as a high-risk driver, insurers will charge more to account for the added risk compared to someone with fewer or no violations. Insurance companies may require that the entire premium be paid in full before they will issue insurance.
Drivers who are responsible for paying fines or judgments will also be charged additional costs. A DUI is the most common reason for an SR-22. This can lead to thousands of dollars in fines. An SR-22 is required for any at-fault accident. Without insurance, the driver at fault is responsible for all fees. This can also lead to thousands of dollars.
Although finding cheap SR-22 coverage can be difficult, shopping around and comparing options will help you make an informed decision if you have to change insurance providers.
Questions frequently asked
What length of time do I need an SR-22 to work in Michigan?
Each state has its own requirements regarding the length of an SR-22. It is three years for Michigan. If there is an insurance lapse, the process begins over.
How can I obtain SR-22 insurance for Michigan?
There are several steps to purchasing an SR-22 certificate. Find an insurance company offering SR-22 insurance. Next, apply for coverage. Finally, pay your premium. The insurance company will then file the SR-22 with Michigan.
What is the cost of SR-22 insurance in Michigan?
An SR-22 can be filed for as little as $50 on average. Although it is a certificate, not insurance, an SR-22 can result in higher insurance premiums because you are a high-risk driver.
What other factors could justify the need for an SR-22
A judge could order an SR-22 for someone who has been in an accident without insurance or has seven points on their record.
What happens to my SR-22 if i move to a new state?
Your SR-22 insurance will be with you if you move outside of your home state. You will have problems registering your vehicle and applying for new insurance if you cancel your SR-22 coverage before the move.