Minnesota Car Insurance Guide – How to Find the Best Minnesota Auto Insurance Policy

Author:

Minnesota has over 14,000 miles worth of highways and stunning scenery. There’s plenty to do and see in Minnesota. Before you take to the roads, make sure you have Minnesota car insurance.

Minnesota is a state that offers no-fault auto insurance. Your insurance company will cover your reasonable and necessary injuries resulting from an accident, up to the amount stated on your policy.

Minnesota law requires bodily injury coverage to cover injuries sustained by a minimum $30,000 per person and a maximum of $60,000 per accident. You and any other driver on your Minnesota car insurance policy will be covered for injuries or deaths caused by an accident. This means that bodily injury coverage covers damage to third parties.

Minnesota law requires that you have at least $10,000 in property damage coverage. Property damage liability coverage covers damage to property of another person, including their car, home or fence.

Minnesota law requires that you have personal injury protection (or PIP) coverage if you plan to register a vehicle.

Personal injury liability covers you and your passengers for reasonable and necessary expenses in the event of an accident. Your personal injury protection auto insurance policy will cover the medical and surgical treatment, as well as dental and optical treatment. Ambulance and nursing services are also covered.

ALSO READ  Best cheap homeowners insurance in Scottsdale

If you or your passengers are injured in an accident, the economic portion of your personal injuries protection policy will cover lost wages. You and your passengers can also receive substitute services. If you or your passenger need assistance with household chores, or any other task related to the accident, substitute services are available.

Your personal injury coverage will pay funeral expenses if you or someone else is injured in an accident.

Minnesota permits you to increase your car insurance limits for economic and medical personal injury. This is known as PIP stacking.

If you choose to stack your personal injury protection, the maximum amount of your personal injuries would go up from $30,000 to $60,000, and your economic limit would go up to $20,000 to $40,000. If you choose to add personal injury protection to your policy, your deductible will not change. However, your car insurance premium will increase.

Minnesota also requires that you carry uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage in the minimum amount of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for any bodily injury caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver. The uninsured/underinsured coverage will pay for medical expenses, lost wages, other general damages, and any injuries in a hit-and-run accident. This coverage covers you, the other drivers on your car insurance policy, as well as passengers.

ALSO READ  How Much Loss of Use Coverage Do I Need?

Minnesota offers a variety of optional insurance options that you may be interested in.

Your lending institution might require you to have collision coverage if your car is financed or leased. This coverage covers you for the repair or replacement of your car if it is involved in an accident with another vehicle or object or if it has rolled over.

While comprehensive car insurance is not required in Minnesota, it will protect you from any damage that may result from a collision, such as fire, falling objects or vandalism. All policies that include collision coverage must have comprehensive.

It might be worth looking into rental car reimbursement coverage. You must have comprehensive and collision car insurance in order to get rental car reimbursement. If your rental car car is damaged, you will be reimbursed by your rental car coverage.

You might consider custom equipment coverage if you have lots of customized equipment, such as brush bars, roll bars and undercarriage lighting.

Minnesota car insurance companies offer loan/lease gap coverage. You must have comprehensive and collision coverage for this coverage to be available. This coverage covers you in the event that your car is damaged. The difference between your car’s actual cash value and the value of your car at that time, less your deductible and your car’s salvage price, any higher amount due on your car at that time, less any unpaid finance fees, excess mileage, wear and tear charges or other expenses related to the loan or lease and your car’s salvage values will be reimbursed.

ALSO READ  Six Types of Auto Insurance Coverage - Car Insurance Quotes Online