Mississippi car insurance laws

Mississippi law requires that drivers have minimum auto coverage. It is important to understand the Magnolia State’s unique laws when you compare and choose the best auto insurance coverage.

Mississippi has many drivers. It has more than 2.1 million. And it ranks highest for most deaths per 100,000 residents. Drivers need to be familiar with Mississippi’s insurance laws in order to ensure they are properly protected and keep the roads safe.

Mississippi has laws regarding car insurance

Mississippi insurance laws look similar to many other states. They are also simple. These Mississippi insurance requirements apply to auto insurance:

  • $25,000 per person, for a single incident
  • $50,000 for bodily injury
  • $25,000 per accident to cover property damage

You must also show proof of your coverage in your vehicle to prove that you have it. To prove your coverage, you can use your mobile phone or any other electronic device.

Mississippi law allows you to prove your financial responsibility and not have insurance. You will need to provide proof of insurance and a bond.

Mississippi Liability Insurance

Mississippi does not require liability insurance. However, there are many reasons why this might not be sufficient coverage.

The minimum coverage requirement for bodily injury is $50,000 per accident. This seems like a reasonable amount. If you are in an accident with multiple vehicles or multiple injuries, $50,000 will not cover your medical bills. Legally, you would be responsible for any difference between $50,000 and the amount of the medical bills.

Mississippi is also ranked 2nd in the country with regards to uninsured motorists. By not having uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage on your policy, you are taking a risk should you be involved in an accident with someone without coverage. This coverage covers you and your passenger’s bodily injuries, as well as income loss and other expenses. You cannot sue the driver if you don’t have uninsured coverage. This can result in additional costs and extra time.

Is Mississippi a state of no-fault?

Mississippi is not among the 12 states that are considered no-fault. It is considered an at-fault state. This distinction is important when discussing insurance laws.
Mississippi is an at-fault state, which means that drivers are responsible for compensating other parties if they are at fault in an accident. Any liability or property damage caused by the accident is the responsibility of the at-fault driver. The other driver may sue you for additional suffering or other damages that are not covered by your insurance.

Mississippi penalizes drivers who drive without insurance

You can be charged with a misdemeanor if you’re caught driving without insurance. Your license could also be suspended for up to one-year. To reinstate your driving privileges, you will need to provide proof of insurance.

If you don’t have insurance and cause an accident at fault, the other driver may sue you for payments, lost income, and other expenses. All of these expenses are out of your pockets. These expenses are in addition to any suspension or fines from Mississippi if you’re caught driving without insurance.

Mississippi offers additional auto insurance options

Mississippi drivers don’t have to be without insurance. You have many options to tailor a policy to meet your driving needs and financial budget.

  • Collision Insurance: collision insurance covers damages resulting from an accident covered, even damages caused by hitting a stationary object.
  • Comprehensive is This insurance covers any damage to your vehicle that was not caused by an accident. This includes fire, theft, vandalism and falling objects.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured motorist: This provides extra financial protection if you are involved in another accident and the at-fault driver does not carry or have adequate insurance. It covers medical expenses, lost income, and any other costs resulting from an accident that you have to recover.
  • Roadside Assistance: This is a cost-effective way to add an additional benefit to your insurance in the event that your vehicle is damaged or unusable. The assistance provided includes towing, extrication, battery replacement and fuel delivery.
  • Rental car coverage: This inexpensive option covers the cost of a rental car if your car is damaged in an accident.
  • Payoff of a loan/lease: If your vehicle is involved in an accident and is damaged, you will likely owe more than the value of the car from the insurance company. The insurance covers the difference and you don’t have to pay extra.
  • Mechanical breakdown Some insurance companies offer this option, similar to an extended warranty. This will cover your repair and maintenance costs for your vehicle so that your out-of pocket expenses are lower.

Questions frequently asked

Which Mississippi insurance company is best?

It is subjective to determine the best Mississippi car insurance company. Many customers review the customer service ratings, customer reviews and rates.

What is the best car insurance in Mississippi?

Mississippi offers many options for low-cost insurance rates. Bankrate reviewed the most recent figures and determined that State Farm and USAA offer drivers the lowest rates in Mississippi.

What happens if I have to change car insurance companies?

You can change car insurance companies anytime. You should be aware of any fees or penalties associated with switching. It might be financially advantageous to wait until your policy is due to renew. To avoid driving without insurance, it is important to have your new policy in force before you cancel your existing one.