Montana car insurance laws

Big Sky Country is home to many scenic views in Montana. However, it is important to be aware of basic Montana car insurance laws before you get behind the wheel. Although Montana only has around 860,000 licensed drivers, this does not make Montana insurance laws less important.

Montana has laws regarding car insurance

The Montana insurance laws are very similar to those in other states. Be prepared to:

  • When an officer asks for proof of insurance, show it.
  • You must show proof of your driver’s licence and registration
  • Minimum liability coverage is 25/50/20. $25,000 per person for bodily injuries, $50,000 per accident for bodily injuries and $20,000 per accident for property damage

Montana has liability insurance

Montana’s minimum liability insurance requirements of 25/50/20 are intended to protect you from bodily injury and property damages in an accident that is not your fault. You are vulnerable to financial pitfalls if you carry the minimums.

Property damage limits are, for example, $20,000 per accident. New cars tend to be priced at well over $20,000 If you are found at fault in an accident, the other driver can sue you for the rest of the costs of replacing a damaged car.

ALSO READ  Minnesota car insurance laws

The minimum bodily injury liability per accident or person is not as strong as the amount you should have. If there were multiple injuries in a serious accident, the $50,000 per accident would not cover your medical expenses. To avoid any coverage gaps, it is best to buy as much liability coverage coverage as you can afford.

Is Montana a no-fault state?

Like most other states, Montana follows the old at-fault laws. Montana law requires that drivers carry minimum liability insurance.

If you are in an accident that is deemed your fault, your insurance policy must cover liability for bodily injury or property damage up to your policy’s limits. In the event that you do not have enough insurance, the other driver can sue you for damages.

Driving without Montana insurance can result in severe penalties

Driving without insurance in Montana carries severe and clear penalties. A misdemeanor can be filed against the first person to be caught driving in Montana without insurance. A no-insurance citation can result in a $250 to $500 fine and up to 10 days imprisonment.

ALSO READ  Best car insurance in Hawaii

A second offense for driving without insurance can result in a minimum of $350 in fines and 10 days in jail. Your driver’s licence is also suspended for 90 days. Your driving record will also be affected by five points. Your license will be revoked if you accumulate 30 points.

A third or subsequent conviction of driving without insurance is punishable by a $500 fine or six months imprisonment.

Montana offers additional auto insurance options

Montana drivers have the option to modify their auto policy to meet their budget and needs. Montanans pay an average annual insurance rate of $301 for minimum coverage and $1,722 to get full coverage. For more coverage, consider adding the following to your budget:

  • Collision Insurance: collision insurance covers damage to your vehicle that results from a collision between another car or an object such as a tree.
  • Comprehensive: Comprehensive covers any damage to your vehicle that is not covered under collision. This covers events other than car accidents, such as hail damage and flood, water, explosions or fire, theft, vandalism, and so forth.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured motorist (UM and UIM): UM and UIM provide extra financial protection to you if you are in an accident and the at-fault driver has zero or inadequate insurance. Even if the other driver doesn’t have insurance, it will pay for all your medical expenses, lost income, and other expenses that result from the accident.
  • The medical payments option covers injuries from an accident and provides medical coverage.
  • Roadside Assistance: In the event that you run out of gas or have a dead battery, or need towing, roadside help can help you get on your way. You can get many benefits from this optional coverage if your car becomes unusable.
  • Rental car coverage: This option covers the cost of a rental car while your car is being repaired due to damage from an accident. It is possible to have your car rented directly from the carrier, which makes it even easier.
  • Gap coverage If your lender requires you to purchase gap insurance if you finance your car or lease it, This insurance covers the difference between your car’s value, which can depreciate quickly, and the amount you owe your lender.
ALSO READ  Discriminatory Practices Leave Black Americans With Less Life Insurance

Questions frequently asked

Which Montana insurance company is best?

To determine which carrier is the best in Montana, there are many factors to consider. Bankrate evaluated customer satisfaction ratings, financial stability, and rates to find the best carriers for Montana customers. Pemco is highly ranked and offers many benefits to customers.

Which Montana state has the lowest car insurance?

Many drivers are concerned about their budget. Fortunately, you can find a policy that suits your needs within any budget. Bankrate reviewed several providers in order to determine the best deals for Montana. USAA ranked first with the lowest rates at $161 per annum for minimum coverage, and $982 for complete coverage.

What can I do to lower my car insurance rates?

Compare quotes and carriers before you decide to exclude any options from your policy. You should take advantage of all discounts, such as bundling, safe drivers, and paid in full. Your premiums will be lower if you take on a higher deductible. A strong credit score will keep your premiums lower than someone with a lower score.

ALSO READ  How Long Does it Take for Gap Insurance to Pay?