Nevada car insurance laws

Nevada drivers must have minimum liability insurance in order to be legally licensed to drive. Although the legal minimum is 25/50/20 it is possible to buy more to get the best car coverage in Nevada.

Also, you must always have proof of your insurance on you when you’re behind the wheel. You can either show proof of your insurance by showing your card or your mobile phone. Most likely, a police officer will ask for proof of insurance if they stop you.

Nevada has laws regarding car insurance

Nevada’s car insurance laws are very similar to those of many other states. They also cover liability. This is insurance that covers damages and injuries to other drivers, passengers and cars in an at-fault collision. You will require at least the following liability coverage. It is usually written 25/50/20.

  • $25,000 bodily Injury (BI) liability: In the event of an accident, your insurance would pay up to $25,000 for one person’s injuries.
  • Total: Your insurer will pay up $50,000 for multiple injuries.
  • $20,000 Property Damage (PD) Liability: This type liability covers damage to the other driver’s vehicle as well as other property damage such as if you strike a fence or light pole.

Nevada is not the most affordable state for car insurance. The state average minimum coverage is $709, higher than the national average of $563. The national average for full coverage is $1,738. This includes collision and comprehensive.

Nevada offers liability insurance

Nevada’s minimum car insurance covers liability. In other words, Nevada insurance laws protect you and your passengers in an accident. You may consider adding additional coverage to protect your financial future.

If you can, it is a good idea not to buy less than the minimum. Consider the consequences if you run a stop sign and cause an accident that injures multiple people or totals the car of the other driver.

Nevada’s medical care can be expensive, especially if you need surgery or rehabilitation. You could end up paying a lot more than the $25,000 minimum BI coverage.

The coverage for property damage is $20,000 is also quite low. It is possible that the car you total is an older SUV, truck or luxury sedan. In this case, it will likely be worth more than $25,000 You would be responsible for any excess if your coverage is exhausted.

Is Nevada a no-fault state?

Nevada is not among the 12 states that are no fault. No-fault states allow you to file insurance claims against your own insurer, regardless of who was at fault for an accident. No-fault laws limit the types of lawsuits that can be filed against drivers after an accident.

Personal injury protection (PIP), which covers you and your passengers in the event of an accident, is required in a state that has no fault. This coverage is not available in Nevada because it is not a state of no-fault. However, you can purchase similar coverage through medical payments (medpay).

Driving without Nevada insurance can result in severe penalties

Nevada insurance laws contain complicated penalties for drivers who are not insured. Fees and other penalties will vary depending on whether you are driving without insurance for the first time, second or third time.

The reinstatement fee will range from $251 to $751. For all other offenses, it will be $250-$1,000. As proof that you have insurance, you may be required to carry an SR-22. If this is your third offense in five years, your license could be suspended for a minimum period of 30 days.

Nevada offers additional options for auto insurance

Nevada’s auto insurance requirements may not be sufficient to protect you in a serious crash. They also do not cover injuries to passengers or yourself. You can also purchase optional insurance to provide more comprehensive and robust coverage.

  • Collision – collision covers you and any other objects in an accident. If you lease your vehicle, it may be required. It does not include a deductible.
  • Comprehensive coverage: This type of coverage is usually grouped with collision. It covers non-accidental mishaps such as theft or vandalism. Comprehensive, like collision, may be required by lenders. It also has a deductible.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist: More than 10% of Nevada’s drivers are on the road illegally without insurance. This coverage will cover your injuries and more if you are involved in an accident with another driver. If the other driver doesn’t have sufficient insurance, this coverage can kick in.
  • Insurance for medical payments (medpay), This coverage will pay your medical bills and the costs of any passengers in your car after an accident.
  • Rental reimbursement: If your car has been damaged in an accident, this optional coverage will cover the cost of a loaner.
  • You will be issued a check by your insurance company for the car’s depreciated price if your car is totaled. This coverage will cover the difference if you owe more on a car loan than this.

Questions frequently asked

Which Nevada car insurance company is best?

There are many insurers that offer solid policies to Nevada drivers. You can do your research online and get multiple quotes to find the best car insurer for you. Bankrate’s Best Nevada Car Insurance Companies listing is a good place to begin your search.

Which Nevada state has the lowest car insurance?

There is no single insurer that has the lowest rates. Your premium will depend on a number of factors, including your credit rating, age, and even marital status. You’ll get a price quote that is unique to your individual circumstances. Our Cheap Auto Insurance Companies of 2021 listing is a good place to begin.

What is the minimum Nevada car insurance?

It is possible, but not likely, especially if there are serious injuries. Although the minimum 25/50/20 coverage is a good starting point, costs can easily spiral beyond that amount if injuries occur or property damage is significant. It is worth considering purchasing more coverage such as 100/300/50.