New Hampshire car insurance laws

Author:

New Hampshire is the only state that doesn’t require minimum liability car insurance. You will not be penalized or fined if you cannot show proof of insurance if you are stopped and pulled over by a police officer.

Even though insurance is not mandatory, it’s not a good idea for drivers to be without insurance. In New Hampshire, even if you’re in an accident at fault, you can be held responsible for any and all damages or medical costs. You could face thousands of dollars in uninsured costs if you don’t have car insurance.

New Hampshire car insurance costs are not as high as the national average. An average New Hampshire minimum liability policy costs $321 per year, which is lower than the national average of $563. A full coverage policy for New Hampshire is $1,099, as opposed to the national rate at $1,738.

New Hampshire has laws regarding car insurance

New Hampshire’s minimum car insurance requirements are 25/50/25, although they are not legally required. This is what it means:

  • $25,000 bodily Injury Liability: This amount is what your insurance company will pay to cover injuries sustained by one person in an accident at fault.
  • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident. In the event that more than one person is hurt in an accident, your insurance will pay for all of them.
  • $25,000 Property Damage: This coverage covers damage to another driver’s vehicle or property, such as a fence, light post, or other structure.
  • $1,000 in medical payments: These would be used to pay for your injuries or the injuries of your passengers in an accident.
ALSO READ  The General car insurance review

Only a handful of drivers are required to have insurance in New Hampshire. This includes those who are convicted for DUI or driving offences such as leaving an accident scene, and those who were responsible for an accident that occurred when they didn’t have insurance.

New Hampshire Liability Insurance

You are responsible for any injuries or damages caused by an accident, regardless of whether there are laws in New Hampshire. To protect yourself from the financial consequences of an accident, everyone who drives must have auto insurance.

If you are involved in an accident that results in serious injuries or damage, New Hampshire’s minimums may not suffice. New Hampshire healthcare can be costly. An accident that causes significant injuries or damage would quickly exhaust the minimum 25/50 liability coverage.

If you are in an accident that results in the death of a vehicle, truck, or SUV, $25,000 would not cover property damage. The average price of a new vehicle in the U.S.A is over $36,000. This means that even if you have the minimum-suggested PD coverage, and you are involved in an accident that results in a total loss of a car, SUV, or truck, you may still be responsible for thousands of dollars in out of pocket costs.

ALSO READ  Quick Auto Insurance - How Long Before I'm Insured

Also, note that New Hampshire’s minimum car insurance covers liability only. This is meant to protect the other driver and their car as well as their passengers. You should also consider adding coverage that covers your injuries and damages.

Is New Hampshire a state of no-fault?

New Hampshire is not among the 12 states that are considered no-fault in the U.S. These states allow you to file an insurance claim with your company, regardless of who is at fault. However, your rights to sue the other party for damages in an accident are severely limited.

Personal injury protection (PIP), which covers your injuries in an accident, is also required by no-fault states. PIP coverage in New Hampshire is not available. You can sue another driver, if necessary, and file a claim to cover your pain and suffering as well as any medical expenses.

Driving without insurance in New Hampshire can lead to severe penalties

New Hampshire law does not require that you have auto insurance. This means you can’t be charged if you get pulled over for speeding or if the officer asks you for proof of insurance. You must have proof of insurance with your vehicle if you fall into one of the above categories, such as those convicted of DUI. You could face fines and suspension of your license if this happens.

ALSO READ  5 Reasons Why You Need Home Emergency Cover

Additional options for auto insurance in New Hampshire

New Hampshire drivers have the option to purchase optional insurance that provides more comprehensive coverage and financial protection in the event of an accident. These optional coverages include:

  • Collision: This covers damage to your vehicle if it is involved in an accident. This may be necessary if your vehicle is leased or you have a loan. There is usually a $250-$2,000 deductible.
  • Comprehensive insurance: This type covers non-accidental mishaps like theft or weather-related damage. You can also add a deductible.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist: Roughly 10% of New Hampshire drivers do not carry car insurance. This coverage will pay for the cost of your medical care and damages if you are involved in an accident with an underinsured driver. If the insurance of the other driver is inadequate to cover all costs associated with an accident, it would kick in.
  • Gap coverage In the event that your car is totaled you will receive a check from your insurance for its depreciated worth. This coverage will cover the difference if your car loan balance is higher than that amount.
  • A new car replacement: This coverage allows you to buy a new car with the same make and model as your old car, even if it is less than two years old.
  • Rental reimbursement: This coverage will cover a rental car if your car has been damaged in an accident.
ALSO READ  Shining a Spotlight on the Complex World of Car Insurance

Questions frequently asked

Which New Hampshire car insurance company is best?

New Hampshire has a variety of solid insurers, both national and local. You should consider the price, customer service, and the range of coverage options to find the best one.

Which New Hampshire state has the lowest car insurance?

There is no single car insurance company that is cheaper for everyone. Your premium is determined by many factors, including your age, car model, credit score, marital status, and your marital status. However, you can start your search by looking at our list of companies who offer the lowest rates in 2021.

Why would I need car insurance in New Hampshire if it isn’t required?

Car insurance is essential if you don’t have the financial resources to pay thousands of dollars for serious accidents. Even though it’s not required by law, you still have to pay any damages that result from an at-fault collision.