It may be helpful to know the penalties for driving without insurance if you reside in Tennessee. You could be subject to various penalties if you don’t have the minimum required coverages for your car insurance.
Driving without insurance in Tennessee could lead to fines, jail, lawsuits, or financial ruin. If you are involved in an accident, having adequate auto insurance can protect you from financial ruin.
Tennessee requires minimum insurance
Most states require drivers to have at least the minimum for certain auto insurance coverages. Tennessee’s minimum requirements for car insurance include:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per individual
- $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident
- $15,000 per accident property damage liability coverage
While minimum coverage may be the cheapest option for auto insurance, it might not provide enough coverage to protect your finances. You are responsible for any excess costs incurred by you if you cause an accident that causes more damage than your insurance covers.
Minimum coverage insurance doesn’t cover damage to your car. Comprehensive and collision coverages are required to provide coverage for damages to your vehicle. These coverages are required by lenders if you have a loan, lease, or other financial obligation.
Driving without insurance in Tennessee carries severe penalties
A law enforcement officer might ask for proof of insurance, whether it is during routine traffic stops or at the scene if a car accident that you were involved in. You could face jail time, fines, and suspension of your license or registration if you fail to show proof of insurance.
You may also be required to keep an SR-22 form with the DMV for many years after your accident in order to prove that you have car insurance. An SR-22 is a form your auto insurer will file directly with the DMV.
You could be subject to financial or other penalties if you are caught driving in Tennessee without insurance. It is a Class B misdemeanor to fail to provide proof of insurance in Tennessee. You could face the following penalties:
- Fines up to 300$
- Suspension or cancellation of a license or registration
- Towing your vehicle
An accident that is not insured could lead to stiffer penalties and the financial burden of covering the damage yourself.
Tennessee’s online insurance verification program charges fees
The state can send you a notice asking you to prove your auto insurance coverage if the online insurance verification system does not have a record of you.
In an accident and not having insurance
Your responsibility for an accident does not depend on whether you have car insurance. You are responsible for any damages caused by an accident you cause. An insurance policy that includes liability coverage is a good option to help pay for the damages. You are responsible for any damages incurred if you don’t have insurance. This can lead to financial stress, devastation, and lawsuits.
An auto policy will help you avoid penalties and fees for driving without insurance. It can also protect your assets and finances in the event of an accident.
Questions frequently asked
What happens if you give false information about your insurance?
You could be charged with insurance fraud if you drive without insurance or knowingly give false proof of insurance after being pulled over or in an accident. There are penalties that can vary depending on whether you are driving without insurance.
What is the cost of car insurance in Tennessee?
Tennessee’s minimum coverage is $371 annually, while full coverage costs $1,338 annually. The national average price of car insurance for minimum coverage is $565 annually and full coverage $1,674 annually. Tennessee auto insurance is generally cheaper than the national average.
How do I prove my Tennessee insurance coverage?
Although showing your insurance card is the most common method of proving insurance, it is not the only one. An insurance binder, or the policy declaration page can be used to prove insurance. Tennessee’s Financial Responsibility Law can be satisfied by submitting a certificate from Tennessee Department of Safety that confirms you are a self insurer, or have posted a bond or cash deposit for the amount required by law.
What is an SR-22 and what does it do?
An SR-22 form is a document that an insurance company files when a driver wants to reinstate their license or registration after driving without insurance or after another offense such as reckless driving, DUI or reckless driving. The form is filed by the insurance company directly to the DMV. It states that the driver has at least the required amount of insurance.