Driving without insurance can result in severe penalties. Driving without insurance can lead to severe penalties in each state. It is illegal to drive without insurance in Illinois, but almost 12% of Illinois drivers were not insured in 2019, according the Insurance Information Institute (iii). Driving without insurance in Illinois could result in heavy fines or even suspension of your license.
Illinois requires minimum insurance
Liability coverage must cover bodily injury up to $25,000 per person, and $50,000 per accident. The property damage requirements must be $20,000 per incident. Illinois also requires that drivers obtain bodily injury coverage from uninsured motorists for $25,000 per person, and $50,000 per accident.
Driving without insurance in Illinois carries severe penalties
You could be fined or have your license suspended depending on the type of offense. Driving without insurance can lead to the following consequences:
The first offense will result in a $1,000 fine. However, penalties may be much higher for subsequent offenses.
If you are a first-time offenders, your license may be suspended for three months and if you’re a repeat offenders, up to four months. You will be required to pay $100 for a license reinstatement fee if your license has been suspended.
Illinois law allows police to legally tow and impounded vehicles that are not insured. Fines can vary.
Higher insurance premiums
Insurance companies will immediately consider you a high-risk driver if you are caught driving without insurance. You will likely have to pay more if you are looking for insurance.
You will be required to obtain an SR-22 insurance certificate for three-years if you are caught driving without any insurance. SR-22 is a certificate that demonstrates that you have the minimum insurance required by Illinois. The state may suspend your license if you fail to comply with the SR-22 requirements.
Fees for Illinois’s online insurance verification program
Illinois offers a digital insurance verification program to drivers and companies. A new state law introduced the Illinois Verification System (ILIVS), effective August 30, 2019. This system monitors and tracks insured cars. It requires that all Illinois insurance companies provide daily reports to Secretary of State regarding all new or cancelled policies. Below is a table that shows the fees drivers can expect to pay through the state’s online verification system for insurance.
|Reason for the fee||The fee amount|
|Driving without insurance?||Minimum $500|
|Driving with a suspended license plate due to an insurance violation||$1000|
|For driving without insurance, have your car town||Fees can vary|
|Reinstatement of a suspended license||$100|
In an accident and not having insurance
Uninsured Illinois drivers who are involved in an accident could face a variety of penalties including a fine and suspension of their driver’s license. Uninsured drivers in Illinois can face penalties if they are involved in an accident. It all depends on who caused the accident.
You can file a third party claim against the at-fault driver’s insurer for bodily injury or property damage if you are not at fault. If you are at fault for an accident, you will need to be covered by the uninsured motorist coverage of the other driver. Although it may take several months before the claim is processed, once it is, the driver’s insurer will likely file a lawsuit against your to recover the losses.
Questions frequently asked
What happens if you give false information about your insurance?
You could face severe penalties if you are caught driving without insurance. False information about your insurance could lead to even greater fines and jail time. You could face a fine of up to $2,000 or six months imprisonment.
What is the cost of car insurance in Illinois?
The average cost for car insurance is $1,485 for full coverage or $442 for minimal coverage. Illinois car insurance is usually slightly less expensive than the national average of $1,674 annually for full coverage. Rates may differ depending on your driving record, credit history, and other factors.
Is the online insurance verification system able to automatically verify that I have insurance?
Yes. Your insurance company will verify your coverage via the Illinois online insurance verification program as soon as your policy is purchased. While it is a good idea that you always have proof of insurance, police can access the verification system in the event that you are pulled over or in an accident.
Is it possible to go to jail for driving with no insurance?
You are unlikely to be sent to jail for driving without insurance. You can be fined up $1,000 for your first offense. You can be fined up to $1,000 for driving without insurance. If you are caught again, you will have to pay another penalty and your license may be suspended for several months.