Indiana, like many other states offers a good reason to get car insurance. Indiana law requires that you have minimum coverage. There are severe penalties for failing to comply. Protecting you and your family against liability and financial loss is a greater reason to search for the best car insurance that meets your needs.
Indiana requires minimum insurance
- Liability for bodily injuries: Minimum $25,000 per person, $50,000 each accident
- Property damage liability: $25,000 minimum per accident
- Bodily Injury to an Uninsured Motorist: Minimum $25,000 per Person, $50,000 per Accident
- Property damage by an uninsured motorist: Minimum $25,000 per accident
- Bodily injury to an underinsured motorist: Minimum $50,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
If an insured rejects them in writing, the uninsured or underinsured requirements can usually be avoided. If you can afford it, it is a good idea for you to get more coverage than the minimum in order to fully protect your financial assets.
Driving without insurance in Indiana can result in severe penalties
Indiana requires proof that you have auto insurance. The certificate of compliance, which is filed with the Indiana Bureau of Vehicles, is evidence that you meet Indiana’s minimum requirements for auto insurance. You can usually arrange for your insurance company to file the COC electronically. This is because there are severe penalties for driving without insurance.
This is a certificate that you will be meeting Indiana’s minimum insurance standards in the future. Your insurance company must file the SR-22 with the BMV when your license is suspended. This form must be in force before an Indiana license may be restored. Depending on your situation, there are certain requirements regarding the time that an SR22 must be in effect.
First offense for driving without insurance
Driving privileges will be suspended for up to 90 days if you are caught driving without insurance in Indiana for the first-time. This suspension will result in the requirement to maintain an SR-22 for three years.
Driving without insurance: Second and subsequent offenses
A second violation can lead to even more severe consequences. A $500 fine and a three-year SR-22 obligation will be imposed on top of the one-year license suspension. A $1,000 reinstatement fee and suspension of your license for the third or subsequent minimum insurance violation will be imposed. The SR-22 must also be maintained for five consecutive years.
Indiana’s online insurance verification program charges fees
The online insurance verification system in Indiana is quite different than most other states. The system can be used by insurance companies to electronically submit proofs of insurance to policyholders. However, it is not available to the public. It is important to remember that Indiana can only electronically submit proof of insurance for policyholders. However, penalties could be applied if you don’t provide proof of insurance within the required timeframe.
In an accident and not having insurance
It is impossible to avoid the serious consequences of an Indiana car accident that you cause while driving without insurance. Driving without insurance will result in you being ticketed and your license will be suspended. SR-22 requirements are also likely to be imposed. These may not be the most difficult challenges you will face.
You could be sued by other drivers, passengers, and their insurance companies if you are at fault for an accident in which you were driving without insurance. This can cause financial difficulties for many years. You will need to cover your medical expenses and any damage to your vehicle.
Questions frequently asked
What happens if you give false information about your insurance?
False insurance information is a crime. It can lead to serious consequences, regardless of whether you have insurance in place . Falsifying insurance information is a Class A crime and can result in up to one year imprisonment or a $5,000 fine.
What is the cost of car insurance in Indiana
In Indiana, car insurance is quite affordable. Full auto coverage costs $1,254 per year, while minimum coverage costs $367. This is significantly lower than the average. Every driver brings different risk factors and characteristics to the insurance application process. It is a smart idea to compare quotes from different carriers. To determine which option is best for you, consult a licensed agent.
Is it possible to drive without insurance?
Driving without insurance is almost always a waste of money. When you consider the huge cost of premiums and the personal freedom at stake if you are cited or worse in an accident, it is negligible.