All motorists must be covered by the state. If you do not have insurance and own a vehicle in Kentucky, your registration will be suspended. You could face serious penalties if you are caught driving without insurance. These include fines, suspension of your driver’s license, registration suspension and jail time.
Kentucky requires minimum insurance
Each state has minimum insurance requirements. Kentucky’s drivers must have minimum coverage for bodily injury, personal injury, and property damage.
- $25,000 for any claim for bodily injury damages by one individual resulting from an accident
- All persons involved in an accident must receive not less than $50,000 in bodily injury damages
- $25,000 for any property damage resulting from an accident
- Personal Injury Protection
A policy with a limit of $60,000 can be purchased by drivers to meet the minimum coverage requirement. It is encouraged to get more coverage than the minimum for your car insurance. You can avoid driving without insurance if you have a tight budget. You may have to pay high out-of-pocket expenses after an accident because minimum insurance does not cover all injuries and damages.
Driving without insurance in Kentucky can lead to severe penalties
Kentucky law prohibits vehicle owners from driving without insurance. Driving without insurance can lead to severe penalties, such as:
Pay a fine
You will be fined $500 to $1,000 for a first offense. For a second offense of driving without insurance in Kentucky, you’ll be charged $1,000 to $2,500
You may be required to spend up to 90 days in prison for a first offense. Fines can also be collected. You could spend up to 180 days in prison for a second or subsequent offense.
Revocation of driving privileges
You can be suspended from driving if you are caught in Kentucky driving without insurance. Your license will be suspended automatically for one year if you are convicted of a second offense. Your license may be suspended for two additional years if you are found driving without insurance following the second offense.
You will be required to pay a $40 reinstatement fee, court fines, and proof of insurance if your driver’s licence or registration is suspended. If your license was suspended for more than a year, you will be subject to the same penalties as the first offense. You may also need to retake the driving test.
Kentucky’s online insurance verification program charges fees
After the Kentucky General Assembly required that county clerks verify vehicle insurance coverage at registration, Kentucky established an online insurance verification system. This system allows insurance companies to sell personal vehicle insurance in Kentucky to record every month all active auto insurance policies. The vehicle registration will be cancelled if the owner or the insurance company fails to provide proof within the 90-day period.
Based on the online insurance verification system, the table below lists the fees Kentucky drivers could face for driving without insurance.
|Reason for the fee||The fee amount|
|First offense of driving without insurance||500-$1000|
|Second offense of driving without insurance||$1,000-$2,500|
|Reinstating driver’s registration||$40|
In an accident and not having insurance
It is one thing to be caught driving without insurance, but it’s quite another to be involved in an accident with no insurance. No matter who caused the accident, you’ll be subject to all the penalties for driving without insurance. Kentucky is a state that has no fault, so each driver must file their claims through their insurance. Even if you weren’t at fault for the accident you still need to pay for vehicle damage and medical expenses.
You will be responsible for any damages caused by the accident. This can include paying all penalties that may result from being caught driving without insurance.
The costs of an at-fault collision can rise significantly if you don’t have insurance. You can sue the other driver or their insurance company if you are unable to pay the damages. You could be held responsible for the medical bills, car repairs, and other damages caused by the accident. This is especially true if the other driver doesn’t have uninsured motorist coverage.
Questions frequently asked
What happens if you give false information about your insurance?
Driving without insurance could cost you money. However, providing false information about your insurance can be a crime and can lead to up to $10,000 in fines or one to five years imprisonment.
What is the cost of car insurance in Kentucky
Kentucky drivers pay an median of $2,128 to get full coverage and $748 to get minimum coverage. The state’s auto insurance is more expensive than the national average of $1674 for full-coverage car insurance. However, every driver’s premiums will be different. To get the best rates, it’s a good idea compare insurance providers and talk to a licensed agent.
How do I find the best Kentucky car insurance?
You can search for the best car insurance in Kentucky by looking at local providers. To find the right insurance company for you, you’ll need to determine your current needs and goals.
Are insurance companies willing to offer discounts?
Most insurance companies provide discounts. It is worth shopping around to find the best insurance company that offers you the greatest discounts, such as multi-policy, good students, defensive driving, and so forth.