Driving without insurance in any state is a major traffic offense that can lead to multiple penalties. Driving without insurance in Massachusetts is a civil motor vehicle violation (CMVI). This means you could face severe penalties such as a heavy fine, jail time, and revocation your driving privileges.
Massachusetts requires minimum insurance
Massachusetts, like every other state, has its own laws about the insurance coverage that vehicle owners must have. To protect drivers from major expenses resulting from auto accidents, the minimum insurance requirements were established. Massachusetts’ minimum requirements require that all drivers have:
- For bodily injury liability coverage, $20,000/$40,000
- $5,000 coverage for property damage.
- Uninsured motorist bodily Injury coverage: $20,000 / $40,000
- Personal injury coverage: $8,000
Most drivers should have more coverage than the minimum. Massachusetts has higher minimum insurance requirements than other states. However, the minimum coverage may not provide enough coverage to protect you from all possible damages in an accident. This could make it financially difficult.
Driving without Massachusetts insurance can result in severe penalties
Massachusetts requires that you have the minimum amount of insurance before you can drive your personal vehicle. Below are the penalties for driving without insurance Massachusetts.
Pay a fine
If you are found guilty for driving without insurance and this is your first offense, you’ll likely be fined $500 and $500, or one year of comprehensive, full coverage insurance. Each subsequent offense results in a $500 fine and an additional $500 payment. Proof of coverage is required for every offense.
Massachusetts law states that if you are convicted of driving without insurance, you could spend up to one year in prison.
Revocation of driving privileges
For a first offense, your registration and driver’s license may be suspended for 60 days. You could also face possible jail time and fines. Your registration and driver’s license will likely be suspended for one year after the first offense.
You will need to pay $500 to reinstate your registration or driver’s license if it is suspended.
You could be charged additional fees in addition to reinstatement and fines. You could be subject to a $45 late payment fee if you fail to pay a fine. A $25 filing fee will be required if you request a hearing.
Massachusetts’s online insurance verification program charges fees
Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles has partnered with Boston Software Corporation in order to offer an online service that allows insurance agents to renew or reinstate vehicle registrations. This online insurance verification system allows insurance companies, drivers, and authorities to verify that a vehicle has adequate insurance. This system is designed to make sure that every vehicle owner has the minimum amount of insurance required before they can drive on the roads.
In an accident and not having insurance
No matter how much fault you may have in an accident, you still need to pay the penalties if you don’t have the right insurance. Massachusetts is a state that has no fault, so regardless of who caused the accident, you’ll still have to pay for any damage to your vehicle and yourself.
Driving without insurance can complicate the process if you are involved in an accident that was not your fault. It will cost you a lot to cover all the costs of vehicle damage and all medical bills.
If you are unable to or unwilling to pay, the other driver’s insurance company and their insurer can sue you. This could result in significant debt, especially if you don’t have uninsured motorist coverage.
Questions frequently asked
What happens if you give false information about your insurance?
Driving without insurance is illegal in Massachusetts. However, if you’re caught, it can be costly. Providing false information about your insurance could result in felony Fraud that could lead to up to five years in prison and a $500-$10,000 fine. It’s often a good idea to get the minimum amount of insurance you need if you have a tight budget.
What is the cost of Massachusetts car insurance?
Massachusetts ‘s average cost for car insurance is $1,223 per year for full coverage. $510 is for minimum coverage. This is lower than the national average of $1.674 per annum for full coverage and $565 respectively. Insurance providers may use different factors to determine your actual premium.
How can you save money on Massachusetts car insurance?
It is a good idea to do extensive research on the available auto insurance companies in your area. Compare quotes and look at coverage options. Many insurance companies offer discounts that could lower your premiums. Take the time to research which offers might work for you. To ensure that you get the best deal, speak to a licensed agent.
What happens if I drive someone else’s vehicle?
If you drive regularly, it is a good idea for you to have your own insurance policy. You can also consider non-owner coverage if you don’t own a vehicle or drive it frequently. Many insurance companies won’t allow you to buy this type of coverage if the owner lives with you. To determine the best type of coverage for you, it’s a good idea speak to a licensed agent.