It is risky driving without insurance in North Carolina. North Carolina, like many other states, requires that all drivers have minimum car insurance in order to legally drive. North Carolina has approximately 7 million drivers licensed to drive. This means that 14.02 people are killed per 100,000 passengers each year. This is more than the 11. national average.
North Carolina requires minimum insurance
In North Carolina every driver must purchase at least a minimum amount of car insurance. You will be issued a citation if you don’t have the minimum amount of car insurance. North Carolina has no insurance requirements so it is easy to be pulled over for driving without insurance.
In North Carolina, the minimum amount a driver must possess is:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $30,000 per Person; $60,000 per Accident
- Property damage liability: $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $30,000 per person; $60,000 per accident
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage: $25,000 per accident
To be financially secure, the minimum amount of auto insurance you need will cover you legally. However, you may want to purchase collision and comprehensive coverage.
Driving without insurance in North Carolina can lead to severe penalties
The average annual cost for minimum car insurance in North Carolina is $413 (or approximately $35 a month). Driving without insurance in North Carolina can result in fines that could be much higher than this.
Driving without insurance in North Carolina can lead to many serious penalties.
In an accident and not having insurance
There are a few possible outcomes if you cause an accident in North Carolina by driving without insurance. The extent of the consequences will depend on whether you were at fault for the accident.
Not at fault
Even if you are not the cause of the accident, an officer on the scene will likely issue you a ticket. After an accident, your car will no longer be able to be driven. You may have to pay impound and towing fees. You will still be eligible to file a claim against the at-fault driver’s insurer, provided they are sufficiently insured.
North Carolina is an At-Fault/ Tort state. This means that the driver who caused the accident is financially responsible for any damages. Although the minimum liability limits for bodily injury are $30,000/$60,000 and property damage is $25,000, at-fault drivers may still be held responsible for additional damages if they cause more than these amounts.
You could also be responsible to pay a high amount for property damage, even if you don’t consider medical expenses (which can be quite expensive depending on the accident). For example, a new Honda Odyssey costs about $32,000. You could end up paying the entire cost of one of these vehicles if you damage it. This is enough to bankrupt most people.
These financial consequences can include losing your license, fines and even jail time.
Questions frequently asked
Which is the best auto insurance company?
The best car insurance company will be different for everyone. Although you can use these picks to help you start your research, it is important to get quotes from several providers to compare prices for the same coverage options. Look at the reputation of each provider for customer service, financial stability, and what discounts they offer.
Is North Carolina using SR-22s
No, North Carolina does not require SR-22s to ensure drivers with severe traffic violations are insured. North Carolina law requires that insurance companies notify the DMV if a driver cancels their insurance policy.
What company has the best North Carolina car insurance?
The cheapest car insurance in North Carolina is different for everyone because insurance premiums are calculated using several specific factors about the vehicle, location, and sometimes certain personal factors. Insurance companies can use personal factors to calculate premiums according to state laws. In North Carolina, the use of gender in insurance premium calculations is prohibited.
Bankrate conducted some research on major North Carolina car insurance providers. Geico and State Farm have reasonable rates for full-coverage insurance at $835 and $958 respectively, according to our study. However, your rates may vary and there could be other insurers that offer better rates.